Week 26 – I Slipped!

Standard

 

Week 26 marks the half way mark of this year’s Bible Journey. If you’re just joining in you can read more about how this adventure started and just what I’m doing in my Outside the Box blog. This is what my pantry door looks like at week 26!

blog pic

Now, on with the blog!

If I say, “My foot is slipping, ”Your faithful love will support me, LordWhen I am filled with cares, Your comfort brings me joy. Psalm 94:18-19

Image result for picture of foot slipping

Just in case I haven’t written it lately. . . God is good! I’ve been in a funk this week. Not really sure what’s going on yet. Maybe it’s delays, challenges, or that fact that my kids are growing up so fast. How do we have one starting high school and one starting middle school in the fall? Regardless, I’ve been having a bit of a pity party and then God placed this verse in my hand this week as a tender reminder that when I slip into that pit, His love will support me. He will pull me out and give me comfort that will cover all my cares.

This reminded me of a blog I wrote several years ago about pit dwelling. Thos times when our foot does slip.

We always hear, “Stay out or get out of the pit” it’s a dangerous place to go. Not surprisingly, I have a different angle on the pit. I’m all for the pit, with guidelines. I think we all reach a place now and then in life where we can benefit from getting in the pit and rolling around in our grief or misery. However, you should only go if you know you are able to get out after a few hours. You can’t stay. (If you suffer from depression – this is not for you – stay far way from the edge of the pit) It’s like a mini-vacation. . . . OK, a bad mini vacation where it rains every day and the food is yucky. If you stay longer than that, your misery and pain can become an idol that sits higher on your priority list than God.

Rules of Pit Dwelling: You have to know you are going and ask a prayer warrior to pray for you. For example, I will say, “Ok, Kirsten I’m in the pit today. Having a little pity party for myself and rolling around in my “yuck”, but I’m not planning on staying, redecorating and having cocktails. I just need to sit in this for a while, feel it and embrace it. I’m coming out tomorrow after God and I work through some things, but please pray for me and call me tomorrow and check on me to make sure I’m out”

Singing songs to a troubled heart is like taking off clothing on a cold day or like pouring vinegar on soda. Proverbs 25:20

I don’t want her to talk me out of going. I don’t want her to tell me why I shouldn’t go. I just want her to pray for me and love me enough to make sure I climb out after the weeping. If you have never been in the pit, I envy you. If you have, I pray you can identify when you are in it and can climb out quickly after gaining strength through the Lord. If you ever sit in that pit, I pray you know it’s OK, you are only human and God is beside you, but please ask others to pray for you while you are there and hold you accountable to climb out quickly.

We can go there, but we can’t stay! I’m praying that no matter where you are today that you are feeling God’s presence, His comfort, and His unexplainable joy!

A Shout Out & special thanks to those dear friends who have stood in the gap for me this week (and many other times in my life) and prayed for the stronghold, I had let take root, be removed and joy to return. I couldn’t do life without prayer warriors. I’m sorry I forgot that for a few weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

