Week 12 – The Only Way

Standard

Image result for picture of a long path

Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me. John 14:6

Truth be told, I struggled with this verse for much of my Christian life. Until I actually opened up the Bible and began to read and study it for myself. It was then that the truths and concepts I had always heard about in church came into focus and the lines no longer blurred together. With knowledge of God’s word comes clarity, strength, and courage about His ways.  I was no longer willing and vulnerable to the watered down version of living that the world was trying to pour into me.

I know this verse can be controversial, even among Christians, and can seem exclusive, but I think these eighteen words Jesus spoke so long ago are the axis on which everything else spins. In the Greek, the article “the” in “I am the way” is an adjective, showing that Jesus isn’t just the person who shows us to God, but that is He personally is the way to God. So, if we follow this Greek definition we understand that Jesus doesn’t just tell the truth. He is truth. Jesus wasn’t just alive, but He is life.  In John 14:5, when Jesus was with his disciples in the Upper Room,  Thomas said,  Lord, we don’t know where You’re going. How can we know the way?”

John 14:6 is the answer to that question. Thank goodness we have it. If we open our eyes to the love, not the exclusivity, that Jesus is showing in His words, it blows your mind. Unlike other “ism’s” and “spiritual” ideas, with Jesus,  you don’t have to complete a checklist, wonder if you have accomplished enough good deeds, given enough money to charity or reached the highest level of awareness. With Jesus, the only thing you have to do for an eternal life and a relationship with the Creator of Heaven and Earth is to believe in Him. Believe in God’s son who He sent to die for each of us. I wonder if people reject it more because it seems to good to be true than for any other reason? Or, maybe they just don’t like the idea of following God’s commands and being accountable to someone other than themselves.  I’m not sure, but I do know that when we believe in Jesus, the love He lavishes on us can spread to others as long as we keep our eyes on what the love of Jesus looks like.

One of my biggest frustrations with the world right now is the lie they are spreading about love. The world says, “If you don’t agree with me, then you hate me.” NOTHING could be further from the truth. You can love someone and not agree with them. You can love someone and not follow their destructive ways. You can love someone who has chosen a path you can’t (and may never) understand. You don’t have to agree with someone to love them.

When your child does something wrong and makes a terrible decision that you don’t agree with, do you all of a sudden hate them? I have never met a parent that does that and I hope I never do. Different opinions, cultures, values can reside in love if we have Christ in the center. Jesus said, “This is My command: Love one another as I have loved you.” John 15:12

Thank goodness Jesus doesn’t choose to love or to hate. He chooses to love even when we fall from His ways and stray from His path. Does your love look more like Jesus or the world? I pray He guides each of us as we tackle the truth of love.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Week 12 – The Only Way

    • Thank you for your re-post. My prayer is that some of my own struggles with John 14:6 (before I was truly reading the scripture) will encourage others in their journey of faith and a greater understanding of what LOVE truly is. Many blessings.

Leave a Reply

