Join me for a 6-week Bible Study

Standard

Thursdays, April 20 – May 25  from 7-8:30 p.m at Hope Community Church, Apex, NC

REGISTER NOW at http://gethope.net/22commandments/

Overwhelmed and wondering how to live life as a Christian? Paul gives us some great insight in his letter to the Thessalonians. Join us as we dig deeper into 1 Thessalonians 5:11-26 by skills I introduce in my Bible study, In the Mi[God]dle, with reflections from The Whisper of God devotional. My prayer is that, through these combined resources, your devotional time will launch you into a deeper relationship with our Father in Heaven and give you a solid foundation in His word.

Being a bit Type A, my heart can struggle without a clear list from God about how to live the life He has called me too. Let me say, I’m grateful He didn’t give us a list and I understand why He didn’t. We would become just like the Pharisees and grow cold from following a list and crossing things off in our relationship with God instead of seeking Him on a personal level.

That said, the scriptures can be daunting and my desire to live as Christ has called me, strong, so imagine how awesome it was for this Type A girl to find in 1 Thessalonians a set of 22 commandments (laws, edicts, orders, precepts, or rule – whatever you want to call it) for Christians from the apostle Paul. Not commandments from God’s mouth like the Ten Commandments found in Exodus 20 because if you are a Christian those are just the beginning. I remember the mindset I had in my prayers as an ill-equipped young Christian. At night when I was supposed to confess my sins, I would think, I didn’t cuss, kill, steal or commit adultery so I think I’m ok in that department. How wrong, how terribly wrong.

I love how Paul takes it one step further, giving some wonderful, clear and intentional instructions on what it should look like after we say, “God, I believe in your son, Jesus. I believe He came, walked this earth, died, was buried and rose again. I understand and praise you that He suffered and died for me on that cross. He has covered all my sins.” Seriously, how do we live after accepting a gift like that? Paul gives us some great insight in his letter to the Thessalonians. I’m so grateful for this answer to a prayer I’ve had so long. Join us as we dig deeper into 1 Thessalonians 5:11-26.

Something struck me as I looked at the verses running together with these loving, direct and clear instructions from Paul. It’s a list! A beautiful list and it’s an answer to prayer for me and for all of us. Clear instructions on how to live like we believe Christ died for us.

REGISTER NOW at http://gethope.net/22commandments/

Leave a Reply

