Week 2 – Wisdom

Standard

Image result for picture of wisdom

Realize that wisdom is the same for you. (the same as honeycomb is sweet to your taste, Prov. 24:13)
If you find it, you will have a future, and your hope will never fade. Proverbs 24:14

Wisdom is defined as the quality of having experience, knowledge, good judgement and being able to take action by applying those qualities. I like to think that over the course of my years I’ve grown in my wisdom, but as I reflected on this verse and the topic of wisdom a few things occurred to me. Like many people, I can associate living and life experiences with wisdom. I’ve experienced many things that have taught me tough and miraculous life lessons, but I truly feel as if most of my wisdom has come from a growing closeness and connectivity with the Holy Spirit. It is He who gives the wisdom.

If I reflect on all the times I responded to a quiet whisper or nudge to send a card, make a phone call, deliver a present, give a compliment or engage in conversation it’s clear that it was not of my own doing, but that of the Holy Spirit. When something I say touches the heart of another person it’s not because of my own knowledge or wisdom, but because of the prayer I sent up for God to guide my conversation and words. Sometimes, I’ve found myself in front of a group of women going off script to share something I didn’t plan on, only to find out later how meaningful it was to a particular person in the group. How it was an answered prayer from my mouth to their ears. This is NOT me! It’s all God and I’m just the vessel. A willing vessel (most of the time).

This verse says that if we find wisdom “we will have a future and our hope will never fade”. So true, for to find and receive wisdom is to find God. When we find God we have a hope and a future that can’t melt away or be cut off. The definition of find (v.) is: to recognize or discover (something) to be present. When we learn to recognize and discover the Holy Spirit’s presence in our lives it opens the door to wisdom we have never known. He will tell us great and unsearchable things we do not know (Jeremiah 33:3).

This reflection on wisdom and the giver of it has been very meaningful to me. I’ll be the first to admit that in the hurry of life I can, without thought, take credit for my actions or begin to take my way instead of God’s. My path doesn’t always lead to destruction, but it does lead to selfishness and the inability to be God’s light in the world. The inability to be the hands and feet of Christ and the errand runner from Jesus to one of His beloved. The more I listen and see God at work and His mysterious results the more awestruck I become. I don’t want to miss out on that and I don’t want anyone else to either.

May we all consider wisdom and the path from which is arrives in each of us.

 

Leave a Reply

