Thoughts and Revelations

Standard

I can’t believe my year of reading the Bible chronologically is complete. There were days I couldn’t put it down the story was fascinating and others days I wondered if I would ever make it through (Leviticus and Job). If you had told me I would say that about studying God’s word several years ago, I wouldn’t have believed you, but it’s true. It’s difficult to explain how amazing this journey has been for me. Even on the weeks I had more than four or five devotions, I still left out so much I highlighted, studied and starred in my Bible. However, if I had to boil it all down to three main themes to tuck away in my heart to ponder daily it would be these:

This is how we are sure that we have come to know Him: by keeping His commands. The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” yet doesn’t keep His commands, is a liar, and the truth is not in him. But whoever keeps His word, truly in him the love of God is perfected. This is how we know we are in Him: 1 John 2:3-5

  1. Know and obey God’s commands. To know them, we must read His word.. To keep and obey them, we have to read His word so we know to lean, ask and trust in our Heavenly Father for the strength, discipline and faith to follow Him.

So now, little children, remain in Him, so that when He appears we may have boldness and not be ashamed before Him at His coming. 1 John 2:28

  1. It’s not about this world, but our eternal one. We get so caught up in the “wants” we forget to focus on all our needs that are being met daily. If we will remain in God through His word, we have a greater chance of overcoming idols and taking the narrow gate that will lead us to Him.

Anyone who does not remain in Christ’s teaching but goes beyond it, does not have God. The one who remains in that teaching, this one has both the Father and the Son. 2 John 9

  1. If we are to have eternal life with our Heavenly Father, we must believe in His Son, Jesus and when we know the Father, we must remain in His teaching. If we know the Father and turn away from Him we are no better than those who never believed.

I pray this blog series has encouraged and convicted you in astounding ways as it has me. I will never be the same and I’m so grateful I was given the incentive to read with a friend over the year. Stayed tuned for some exciting news next week about my new book coming out just in time for Christmas! A hint, it has to do with reading the Bible chronologically. After all, who doesn’t desire to know more about our “God who holds your life-break in His hands and who controls the whole course of your life.”?  (Daniel 5:23)

Praying we all continue to seek our Heavenly Father through His written word.It never fails and is always relevant. It lives and breathes after all these centuries and will continue to do so until His return and all that was prophesied is accomplished.

Leave a Reply

