Join us for Bible Study

Standard

gim

The first session of God In The Middle starts this week at Hope Community Church. I’m thrilled to be leading this Bible study God placed on my heart, but I’m even more excited about what we are going to discover together.  Just like our lives, every week will look different. Come anticipating what’s next. We aren’t just going to read His word; we are going to experience it through coloring, hands-on projects, conversation and more. I don’t call this the no excuses Bible Study for nothing! Come as you are, as much as you can. I’m praying for each of you who will be attending and look forward to our 7-week journey together. 

What you need to know:
Time: 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm on Wednesday evenings (Starting Sept 21)
Place: The class will meet in the chapel at the Raleigh campus. (Located at the top of the stairs from the atrium)
Books: Will be available for pickup outside the chapel. Your class fee covers the cost of the book.  If you did not pay online, please bring a cash or a check for $10 to cover the cost of the book.  If you need help covering the cost of your materials, please let us know.
Supplies: You will need your Bible, a pen and a set of colored pencils.
Register HERE

Now . . . for this week’s blog. . . . Letters to Angels

In the book of Revelation (chapters 2-3) we discover letters are written to the angels of the seven churches. I find this fascinating. Letters to angels! Scholars believe these seven churches were chosen because they were the first churches to provide the Gospel to all the other churches that followed. Each of the seven letters seems to follow a similar format consisting of: an introduction, a compliment, a condemnation and then a command to correct the problem addressed. It’s so fascinating! I hope you will read it all for yourself because today we will just look at the complaint of the church of Laodicea.

“Write to the angel of the church in Laodicea:

“The Amen, the faithful and true Witness, the Originator of God’s creation says: 15 I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish that you were cold or hot. 16 So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I am going to vomit you out of My mouth. Revelation 3:14-16

The complaint against this church was that their people were essentially somewhere in the middle of Christianity. They believed, but were not passionate and all in. This letter clearly instructs that that isn’t enough! Lukewarm is defined as slightly warm or warmish. Do we want to be known as “slightly” Christian or “Christianish”? I certainly do not. In fact, I hear from women all the time that the reason they aren’t going to church is because they had some friends who were “Christians” and they weren’t very kind or lived wild lives. I’ve heard from single women dating who have chosen to date men who don’t go to church because the ones they have dated that do attend church aren’t very nice. This is when I say that “Christianish” people make sharing the Gospel with other more difficult than most atheist do.

I was greatly convicted by this reminder. God would rather us be either hot or cold instead of somewhere in the middle. Just fence sitting and waiting to see which way is more acceptable to society or more politically correct isn’t what He is looking for. When we are in the word of God, the call is clear and our convictions strong. I deeply desire to have the Father sitting at my table. How about you?

Because you say, ‘I’m rich; I have become wealthy and need nothing,’ and you don’t know that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind, and naked, 18 I advise you to buy from Me gold refined in the fire so that you may be rich, white clothes so that you may be dressed and your shameful nakedness not be exposed, and ointment to spread on your eyes so that you may see. 19 As many as I love, I rebuke and discipline. So be committed and repent. 20 Listen! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and have dinner with him, and he with Me. 21 The victor: I will give him the right to sit with Me on My throne, just as I also won the victory and sat down with My Father on His throne. 22 “Anyone who has an ear should listen to what the Spirit says to the churches.” Revelation 3:17-22

Leave a Reply

