Older Women

Standard

IMG_2287

With a daughter in middle school, I’m often meeting new friends and their families. I often ask myself what my actions and words reflect about God when I’m around the listening ears and wondering eyes of these young ladies. Honestly, some days my answer is better than others. As I arrived in Titus chapter 2 this week, I was reminded of Paul’s instructive words in one of the “Pastoral Epistles”.

In the same way, older women are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not addicted to much wine. They are to teach what is good, so they may encourage the young women to love their husbands and to love their children, to be self-controlled, pure, homemakers, kind, and submissive to their husbands, so that God’s message will not be slandered. Titus 2:3-5

There are many who will take offense, as I once did, to the words “homemaker” and “submissive”, but let’s not let these words, that the world has given a negative connotation, keep our eyes and hearts from receiving some amazing advice for “all the ladies” out there. Side note: Paul uses the words “older women”. Let’s not consider this to be women in their 80’s but any of us who are older than those we are around. Being “older” is different from being “old”! Anytime we can help model for young women how to be a Godly woman, wife, sister, friend and mom – we should.

This wonderful list gives us wise advice on how to be an encouragement and example of Christ to those we come in contact with. Basically, it’s like a “how to” on how to be a Christian role model. Let’s break it down.

Be reverent. Simply put, be devoted and respectful of others.

Don’t gossip or talk negatively about others.

Don’t drink to much, teach only good things and encourage women to love their husbands and children,  not speak negatively about them.

Practice self-control, purity and kindness. Manage your household and care for your family while yielding to your husband.

How did you feel as you read the list? I’m feeling convicted to my core in several areas, I’m going to make every effort to pray for myself in these areas of weakness so that I can be the role model God intends for me to be. I want to leave a legacy that includes all of these qualities and inspires others to come along side and do the same. Will you join me?

Leave a Reply

