Still Remaining

Standard

Jesus says it repeatedly in John 15..

If you have followed my blog for a while, you know that each year I choose a word to dwell on during the year. The Lord usually places a word on my heart. This time that word was, “remain”. Over and over again, this was a word He kept placing in my path over and over. You can read more about this from my blog called The Year of Remain at https://thewhisperofgod.wordpress.com/2015/03/16/the-year-of-remain/

All that said, as I get closer to the end of an amazing year of reading the Bible chronologically it was wonderful to find, tucked into John 15, a wonderful reminder of why I have done this and how much I have grown over the past year simply by remaining in God and His word.

Remain in Me, and I in you. Just as a branch is unable to produce fruit by itself unless it remains on the vine, so neither can you unless you remain in Me.  (v. 5)

If you remain in Me and My words remain in you, ask whatever you want and it will be done for you. (v. 7)

“As the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you. Remain in My love. 10 If you keep My commands you will remain in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commands and remain in His love. (v. 9-10)

Tears well up in my eyes as I type this and consider all the benefits we receive by simply remaining in the light of our Heavenly Father’s word. There are many of us who never make the time, think we are to busy, that it’s a waste of time, that it isn’t relevant anymore, that we can’t understand what it means so what’s the point. . . . I remember using a few of these same excuses years ago. Please don’t assume what others say about the Bible is true. Read it for yourself. It’s a face to face conversation with your Heavenly Father that He so desperately wants to have with you. If our favorite movie star or athlete called to say they wanted to meet for dinner I have no doubt most of us would take out a loan for the flight, drop everything and rearrange our schedules to get there. Well, the Creator of the Universe wants to have a one-on-one with you. The Creator of everything that has ever been and will ever be. Will you meet Him?

We have access to knowledge, wisdom and understanding that we can only begin to tap into and comprehend when we read the Bible. As Jesus said in John 16:1, “I have told you these things to keep you from stumbling.” I pray each of us will carve out the time the study God’s word, that we would thirst for Him in new ways and that He will create a fire in our hearts to remain in Him today and every day of our lives.

2 thoughts on “Still Remaining

  1. In my experience, James 4:8 ‘Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you’ is very true. The more time I devote to prayer and reading Scripture, the more I feel close to Him. I wish more people would make this their #1 priority, and see what happens in their life!

Leave a Reply

