No Brainer!

Standard

It was so wonderful to find myself back in Zechariah. After writing 30 Days In Zechariah a few years ago, I had moved on to other books and topics in the Bible and not revisited it. This prophetic book never ceases to amaze and astound me. It’s such a great reminder of the God we serve.

A declaration of the Lord,
who stretched out the heavens,
laid the foundation of the earth,
and formed the spirit of man within him. Zechariah 12:1

So often, I hear others say that studying the Bible is difficult to understand and vague. Today, I want to look at two verses tucked into Zechariah that are so clear and so concise there is no way around their meaning and the intention the Lord has set for us to follow.

These are the things you must do: Speak truth to one another; make true and sound decisions within your gates. 17 Do not plot evil in your hearts against your neighbor, and do not love perjury, for I hate all this”—this is the Lord’s declaration. Zechariah 8:16-17

Those of you who have read my books and blog know I’m a Type A personality. I love a list and I love to cross things off my list as I accomplish them. God doesn’t usually set a list before us . . . so when He does I grab it. This is a very clear list and the Lord is VERY clear about our “must do’s” and what He “hates”.

We must: speak the truth and make true (real or genuine) and sound decisions

We must not: plot evil against others or love perjury (breaking an oath and lying)

The Lord is sharing this “list” with Zechariah in a vision and promising that He will bring His people back to Jerusalem once again. For the Lord of Hosts says this: “As I resolved to treat you badly when your fathers provoked Me to anger, and I did not relent,” says the Lord of Hosts, “so I have resolved again in these days to do what is good to Jerusalem and the house of Judah. Don’t be afraid. (Zechariah 8:14-15)

The Lord promised to bless His people once again and was encouraging them not to be afraid about provoking Him. Just speak truth and make genuine decisions, don’t plot evil and break your oaths, the Lord explains, and you will be fine.

Honestly, it really can boil down to those things for each of us. Think about how those 2 do’s and 2 “do- nots” encompass all the Ten Commandments and could guide our actions, words and deeds every day of our lives. If we could just get these four things down with a bit more precision, our lives would be on a track to live life in a closer walk with our Heavenly Father.

Stay tuned . . . . there are only four more weeks of Old Testament blogs and then we will finally be in the New Testament! It’s been so much fun to discover all the nuggets of truth and wisdom tucked into the OT, but I’m ready for some Jesus after all this exile! How about you?

Leave a Reply

