The Watchman

Standard

 I searched for a man among them who would repair the wall and stand in the gap before Me on behalf of the land so that I might not destroy it, but I found no one. 31 So I have poured out My indignation on them and consumed them with the fire of My fury. I have brought their actions down on their own heads.” This is the declaration of the Lord God. Ezekiel 22:30-31

“I searched for a man that would stand in the gap before Me.” These words kept pouring over and over in my mind as I read Ezekiel. I could not shake them and had to sit for a moment to allow them to soak into my heart. It reminds me of how Moses prayed on behalf of his people for God to be merciful to them even their complaining or how God promised Abraham he would spare Sodom and Gomorrah if just ten righteous people could be found after his prayers.

Moses and Abraham both stood in the gap for God’s broken and wayward people. By doing so, God relented and answered their prayers. As I look back on my life, I’m so thankful for the people who have stood in the gap for me during times in my youth when my heart was not with the Lord or when my mind was so heavy and foggy with grief or pain that I wasn’t even able to think clearly.

I’ve also had the privilege to stand in the gap friends who were in distress, the hearts of the unsaved in the hope they would come to the Lord and for those I may not have met, but have heard their stories. It is heartbreaking to think that (in the above verses) the Lord was searching among all men to stand in the gap for Israel but not one was found.

It reminds me of how important it is for each of us to not only pray for our friends and family, but for our country and this world that is so broken. We are quickly falling farther and farther away from the principles and truths of our Lord and Savior. The foundation our country was founded on has been fractured and eroding away beneath us. I wonder if God is searching for someone, anyone, out there who will repair the wall and stand in the gap before Him on our behalf. Maybe today is the day we should all ask, “Is it I, Lord?”

Leave a Reply

