Just Throw IT!

Standard


All the doom and gloom continues in Ezekiel, but there are so many amazing treasures to stop and savor in this text.
Throw off all the transgressions you have committed, and get yourselves a new heart and a new spirit. Why should you die, house of Israel? Ezekiel 18:31
Yes, this the a declaration of the Lord for Israel, but think of how often we let our own transgressions sink us into the depths of the pit. The Lord says to THROW OFF our transgressions. Don’t just place them down, hope they will go away or cover them up, but THROW them off. When I picture throwing off all my transgressions of the day in my head it’s powerful. Sit for just a moment and try it for yourself. I pray it lightens your load as it did mine. Not only that, he continues and says, “get ourselves a new heart and spirit”. Now, we don’t have to look far to figure out who can provide us the best new heart and spirit. Throw off the old yucky stuff and reach for the new that never gets old and is provided by your Father in Heaven.
I spoke to the people in the morning, and my wife died in the evening. The next morning I did just as I was commanded. Ezekiel 24:18
Another amazing diamond in the rough is how amazingly dedicated Ezekiel was to the Lord. He spent his life sharing the messages God gave him for His people, even on the day his wife died. Not only that, he took no time for mourning because he got out the next morning just as the Lord commanded him. Wow! Ezekiel knew his mission, loved his God, was faithful to follow and serve Him in every way. I pray that each day I live, my walk and desire to follow the Lord will look a little more like Ezekiel’s with each day. Understanding how far I am away from this goal, it gives me peace to know it will not be by my own might, but God’s it will happen.
He said to me, “Prophesy concerning these bones and say to them: Dry bones, hear the word of the LORD! 5 This is what the Lord GOD says to these bones: I will cause breath to enter you, and you will live. 6 I will put tendons on you, make flesh grow on you, and cover you with skin. I will put breath in you so that you come to life. Then you will know that I am Yahweh.” Ezekiel 37:4-6
Yes, God takes Ezekiel on a little field trip to the middle of the valley where there is a heap of dry bones and tells him to put them together. What?! Ladies and gentlemen, this is the God we serve. One that will sweep in, sit a prophet down in the middle of a valley and give him the spirit to prophesy over dried up bones so they will stand, walk and have breath once again. Can you imagine Ezekiel’s face? Maybe he was use to seeing all of these amazing visions and having the inside scoop from the Lord, but I have to think even Ezekiel was a bit amazed by all of this. Our God is able! Our God is capable and our God is more than we can imagine. These are just a couple of the gems I found tucked away in beginning of Ezekiel. There are more I will share, but so many more I hope you will discover on your own as you read through scripture.
Then He said to me, “Son of man, these bones are the whole house of Israel. Look how they say, ‘Our bones are dried up, and our hope has perished; we are cut off.’ 12 Therefore, prophesy and say to them: This is what the Lord GOD says: I am going to open your graves and bring you up from them, My people, and lead you into the land of Israel. 13 You will know that I am Yahweh, My people, when I open your graves and bring you up from them. 14 I will put My Spirit in you, and you will live, and I will settle you in your own land. Then you will know that I am Yahweh. I have spoken, and I will do it.” This is the declaration of the LORD. Ezekiel 37:11-14

Leave a Reply

