Repurposed

Standard


The Potter’s Story in Jeremiah Chapter 18 resonated with me after a difficult day of parenting. I was tired, grumpy and quickly lost my temper when my two children began complaining about each other and fighting. After it all blew over my mind was consumed with guilt and my spirit convicted after reacting so quickly and harshly.
This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD: “Go down at once to the potter’s house; there I will reveal My words to you.” So I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, working away at the wheel. But the jar that he was making from the clay became flawed in the potter’s hand, so he made it into another jar, as it seemed right for him to do. Jeremiah 18:1-4
God used this illustration to show Jeremiah how He could change His mind and relent from punishing the House of Israel IF they would turn from their evil ways. For me, it was a wonderful reminder that when I start down the wrong path I can always turn back to God so that He is able to make something new out of me. After all, each of us are “flawed pots” made great only by the Maker’s hands. When we allow Him to shape and mold our hearts, desires and minds He can make us into a beautiful piece of art.
The word of the LORD came to me: “House of Israel, can I not treat you as this potter treats his clay?”—this is the LORD’s declaration. “Just like clay in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand, house of Israel. At one moment I might announce concerning a nation or a kingdom that I will uproot, tear down, and destroy it. However, if that nation I have made an announcement about turns from its evil, I will relent concerning the disaster I had planned to do to it. Jeremiah 18:5-8
Think about it, without God as our compass our lives will take on a form that is flawed. As I look back on the days in my life where I had put God aside and living for my own desires and pleasure, it was so shallow and filled with pride, selfish envy, temporary satisfaction and sin that no one would have ever been able to recognize my Maker or Creator in me. Finally, God broke through to me once again, He took my warped clay and turned me into something new and beautiful. Yes, I still have scars, but He has made them beautiful. So beautiful that they are now a part of my story that I can use to share the gospel with others.
I’m not sure where you are today. Maybe you still feel like a flawed pot or maybe you have turned yourself over to the Creator for some modifications. The good news is that it’s never to late. Whether you need to turn your entire life back over or your sin from the day. The Creator and Master potter awaits your willing heart and can turn your flaws into something beautiful for His plan. I pray your heart is willing to be molded and shaped by the Creator today and everyday.

3 thoughts on “Repurposed

  1. Beautiful.
    Reminds me too, of a process the Japanese do with their pottery. When there are cracks and imperfections, they fill it in with Gold.

  2. Pingback: The Whisper of God | Christ Our Passover

Leave a Reply

