Word Watching

Standard


I found something so exciting in Jeremiah. Let’s set the stage: The Lord calls upon Jeremiah to go and speak without fear about all He shares with him. Of course, Jeremiah (like many before him) says, “Oh no, Lord, GOD! Look, I don’t know how to speak since I am only a youth.” (Jeremiah 1:6) and then the Lord reaching out His hand to touch Jeremiah’s mouth and tells him, “I have now filled your mouth with My words.” (v. 9)
This makes my heart leap. Have you ever been in one of those situations where you have been able to speak a gentle truth, offer a loving comfort or submissively follow in a way that you know you could have never, would have never been able to do if God hadn’t stretched out His hand and filled your mouth with His words and your heart with His love? It’s an incredible feeling. I’m so thankful God doesn’t allow me, myself, and I to get in the way of His plan and will use me to do something I never thought capable for His glory. Of course, we are always capable when we say, “Not me, but You God!” And the story doesn’t end there. God gives Jeremiah two visions. I just want to look at the first and hope you will dig into the book of Jeremiah to read about the second one.
Then the word of the LORD came to me, asking, “What do you see, Jeremiah?” I replied, “I see a branch of an almond tree.” The LORD said to me, “You have seen correctly, for I watch over My word to accomplish it.” Again the word of the LORD came to me inquiring, “What do you see?” Jeremiah 1:11-13
Here is what God lit up in lights for me to see – “. . . for I watch over My word to accomplish it.”
This is the kind of revelation and reminder that keeps me coming back day after day to God’s word. We often envision God looking down on us and watching over us, but have you ever considered that He watches over His word so that it is accomplished?! Those nine words make my arms raise in joy, my eyes look to the heavens, my heart leap with gladness and my spirit soar with faith and hope. I know and trust God’s word to be from Him. I believe every word penned by human hands He guided and allowed to enter His holy text, but to picture Him watching over His word is such an incredible image and a great reminder. God is close! He is in every teeny tiny detail, He see all, knows all and will accomplish all He has promised and declared.
What an awesome God we serve. I pray we honor Him in all ways, praise Him for His power, embrace Him with all our hearts and serve Him with every cell. He is here, He is always near and He is in control so we can set all fear and uncertainty aside.

One thought on “Word Watching

  1. Pingback: The Whisper of God | Christ Our Passover

Leave a Reply

