Widows Mite

Standard

I’m interrupting our journey through the Bible this week for two special reasons: Christmas and a cool story. A few months ago my Dad gave me an 2,000 year old coin called a widows mite. Although it was smallest Jewish coin valued hardly as much as our penny, it’s special for two reasons: 1) my Dad gave it to me and 2) it existed during the time of Jesus.  There is also an amazing story  in the Bible with two great lessons for us as we enjoy and savor this Christmas season.

Jesus looked up and saw the rich putting their gifts into the offering box, and he saw a poor widow put in two small copper coins. And he said, “Truly, I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all of them. For they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.” Luke 21:1-4 ESV

These four short verses are packed with two great lessons. First, our gifts of service and tithes don’t have to be extravagant and over the top for them to touch God’s heart. When we give sacrificially with love and trust, God honors it. He knows our hearts and our intentions. We will never be able to repay Jesus for His sacrifice and thankfully, we aren’t expected to. However, God does want us to live a life worthy of our calling and offer the love, forgiveness, grace and mercy to others that He extends to us. Second, this Christmas season take a moment to look around at the people in your office, your neighborhood and community. Pray God will show you someone who needs a kind word, gesture or donation that would be nothing for us to give, but mean the world to them.

I had a jeweler make the coin my Dad gave me into a charm to add to my necklace. It will continue to be a reminder for me of God’s calling on my life to love others and trust in His provision. It will also remind me of the loving earthly father that my gracious God has blessed me with. Talk about a priceless gift.

Merry Christmas to all of you! I’m thankful to each of you for following my blog and sending me occasional e-mails of encouragement. I pray you and your families have a Christmas filled with joy and Light. I look forward to continuing our study of the Bible in 2016.

IMG_0153

my necklace

2 thoughts on “Widows Mite

  1. Blessed as usual ♥ I also have a coin like this! I never considered making it into a necklace–what a beautiful idea! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

