Famine of Words

Standard

Hear this! The days are coming— this is the declaration of the Lord God— when I will send a famine through the land: not a famine of bread or a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the Lord. Amos 8:11

The definition of famine is: any extreme and general scarcity; extreme hunger for; starvation.

When Amos and Hosea speak of Israel’s corruption and God’s disgust I can’t help but imagine He feels the same about our country at this time. In so many ways we have turned our backs on Him, His ways and laws just as the Israelites had.  Amos 8:11 describes God sending a famine “of hearing from the Lord” and it stung my heart in a way that I had not anticipated. One of my greatest prayers is that God will continue to create a thirst for Him in my heart that can’t be quenched. Not hearing from Him is one of my greatest fears. How would I parent my children, keep my marriage together, live a life worthy of the Gospel, be His light in the world or trust in my forgiveness of sin if I couldn’t hear from Him? My communication with God is a connection I pray will never be broken.

Consider all that the Lord had done for His people throughout the Old Testament so far . . . . (you can read back through my blog for that one as I don’t have room for a long list here) only to have them turn their backs on Him. I know how I feel when I’ve served, entertained and loved on my children all day only for it to end in tears over one small thing that didn’t go their way. It’s as if all the other actions of love never existed. I’m hurt, feel disrespected, unappreciated and SUPER frustrated.

Woe to them, for they fled from Me; destruction to them, for they rebelled against Me! Though I want to redeem them, they speak lies against Me.  I trained and strengthened their arms, but they plot evil against Me. They turn, but not to what is above; they are like a faulty bow. . . Hosea 7:13, 15-16

God gives, gives and gives. HE forgives, forgives and forgives. He relents, relents and relents some more, but how long can He allow that to occur if we won’t wake up, open our eyes and turn back to Him, seek Him and search for Him? That’s why we need those times of silence, those days of silence and famine. At some point, a parent has to leave a child to their own devices until they reach rock bottom and there is no other place to look but up. Hopefully then, sin is recognized and our search for God and a desire for His presence will overcome once again.

I will depart and return to My place until they recognize their guilt and seek My face; they will search for Me in their distress. Hosea 5:15

Leave a Reply

