Reminders from Amos

Standard

Amos was an average shepherd who became one of the first prophets from 8th century B.C. I’ve read from the book of Amos here and there, but never studied it closely until now. It’s quite beautiful and a bit scary too. His book and speaking was one of warning, as he foretold of God’s judgement. However, being on this side of history, we have seen those judgements fulfilled. That said, it is a great reminder and brings on many strong feelings in my heart concerning the day the Lord returns to claim this place and His people.
In my opinion, one of the greatest things about reading scripture is that we discover who our God truly is. When we know Him, we can recognize Him around us and at work in our lives. People ask me all the time how I see God in my daily life. All I can say is that to see someone and recognize them you must know them first. Humbling me day after day for years, God has shown me how discipline and obedience is critical to following him wholeheartedly. Getting to know Him, His ways and His truths through scripture is half of the formula and prayer is the other. Amos shared some amazing passages that remind us who the God we serve really is.

Take a look at the first two:
He is here: the One who forms the mountains, creates the wind, and reveals His thoughts to man, the One who makes the dawn out of darkness and strides on the heights of the earth. Yahweh, the God of Hosts, is His name. Amos 4:13
The One who made the Pleiades and Orion, who turns darkness into dawn and darkens day into night, who summons the waters of the sea and pours them out over the face of the earth—Yahweh is His name. Amos 5:8
It’s exhilarating and scary (in a good way). Exhilarating because I can say this God is a friend of mine who adores me and died for me. Scary, because as I look at my life there are many days I forget the splendor and magnitude of the one I serve. I need these verses printed out and framed all over my house as a reminder of His sovereignty and mighty ways every moment of my days. Especially on the days my wits are frazzled and my heart is breaking over fear, sadness or trial – what better way to trust and live than to remember our God is so much greater than all we see, think and fear. As you read this last verse I pray you will sit for a minute or two and allow the depth and enormity of our God soak into your reality.

He builds His upper chambers in the heavens and lays the foundation of His vault on the earth. He summons the waters of the sea and pours them out on the face of the earth. Yahweh is His name. Amos 9:6

Leave a Reply

