Decayed Foundation

Standard

As I watch this country I love meander and struggle to cling to the roots it was founded on, I pray God will direct the paths of our leaders, open the eyes of its citizens and restore this nation (that was founded on God) for direction, peace, provision and protection. So often as I sit and read all that is going on in this country and our world, I ponder over what I can do and honestly I’m overcome with a sense of helplessness. Helplessness in the sense that there is nothing I can do, but hope in knowing God is in control and nothing happens without His hand upon the details.

All that said, this verse stung my heart as I read it today.

When the foundations are destroyed, what can the righteous do?” Psalm 11:3

In the chronological Bible, this Psalm comes before 2 Chronicles 7 where we find Solomon has completed the temple his father David and the Lord instructed him to build. Once completed, it says the Lord appeared to Solomon and said:

“I have heard your prayer and have chosen this place for Myself as a temple of sacrifice. If I close the sky so there is no rain, or if I command the grasshopper to consume the land, or if I send pestilence on My people, and My people who are called by My name humble themselves, pray and seek My face, and turn from their evil ways, then I will hear from heaven, forgive their sin, and heal their land.  (2 Chronicles 7:12-14) . . . . . .

However, if you turn away and abandon My statutes and My commands that I have set before you and if you go and serve other gods and worship them, then I will uproot Israel from the soil that I gave them, and this temple that I have sanctified for My name I will banish from My presence; I will make it an object of scorn and ridicule among all the peoples. (2 Chronicles 7:19-22)

I pray you will read 2 Chronicles 7 in its entirety, but in a nut shell is says this: If we humble ourselves before God, seek Him and pray He will offer forgiveness and heal our land. However, if we turn away from Him, His statutes and commands (as I feel our country has done) we will be uprooted. This is God’s warning to Israel and I feel we should all (as Christians and citizens of this great country) take a closer look at His warning for our own country.

I don’t have a lot of facts and figures to add to this. There are plenty of blogs by people much more intellectual and math minded that can offer you that information if you seek it. However, I can offer you the words and thoughts God has placed on my heart for this great nation and all of us in it. I pray as we ponder, “What can the righteous do as the foundation is destroyed?” that God will lead us deeper into His word and offer us all the wisdom, peace and direction we crave for our families and the generations to come.

 

Leave a Reply

