The Inexperienced

Standard

The Lord is gracious and righteous; our God is compassionate. The Lord guards the inexperienced; I was helpless, and He saved me. Return to your rest, my soul, for the Lord has been good to you. Psalm 116:5-7

As I read Psalm 116, the word “inexperienced” caught my eye. The Holoman Study Bible says that the inexperienced “are naïve people, usually young who are uncommitted, they lack common sense and prefer folly over wisdom.” (pg. 1031) I feel as though I am living proof of these words David lived out and penned so long ago. Without a doubt, I know that the Lord does, indeed, guard the inexperienced. In my young adult life I believed I was a true Christian, but was so inexperienced, so naïve, selfish, so willing to sit on the fence instead of take a stand for Jesus.

In short, I was helpless. Thank goodness God saved me. After looking for love in all the wrong places, using business and partying to keep my mind off past and present sin, and being chained by the guilt and shame that comes along with all that sin . . . . . God saved me. As I began to read and study His written word, He came alive to me for the first time. I no longer sat on the side lines and allowed others to tell me about God. I got to know Him for myself. After a few years of that, there was no turning back. God busted through every chain that had bound me and put my soul at rest. Be careful not to misinterpret those words. My heart has cried out, been broken by sadness, overcome with fear, doubt and anger at times in the journey, but my soul . . . my soul rest in God. He saved me and continues to save me every single day (sometimes every hour of every day).

Are you feeling inexperienced? Like you need a little saving? Please dive into His word. This blog is a great start. Bible study is a great start, but get into the Bible and read His word for yourself*. The Bible sitting on your shelf is the living is the breathing word of God. He is waiting for you to pick it up and discover His mysteries of forgiveness, love, grace, compassion and provision. I promise it’s there. All those things. They are there. His Word will give you understanding (Psalm 119:130), teach you to be shrewd (Proverbs 8:5) and most of all help you leave inexperience behind (Proverbs 9:6). I have savored the mysteries and promises of His word and cling to them in every aspect of my life. Will you run to Him, cling to Him and allow Him to save you, redeem you and bring rest to your soul?

The proverbs of Solomon son of David, king of Israel: For learning what wisdom and discipline are; for understanding insightful sayings; for receiving wise instruction in righteousness, justice, and integrity; for teaching shrewdness to the inexperienced, knowledge and discretion to a young man— Proverbs 1:1-4

*If you are looking for a good Bible study on how to study the Bible on your own that is relevant and doable please check out In the Mi[God]dle.

 

 

Leave a Reply

