Who Me?

Standard

Yes, you! It never ceases to inspire me as I read the Bible and discover all the average, fragile and “normal” people God calls to accomplish His most amazing feats. First, there was Moses who said to the Lord when He called on him, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?” Exodus 3:11

God wanted Moses to talk Pharaoh into letting His people go. He wanted them released from slavery and called on Moses to make it happen. Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.” Exodus 4:10

Oh, how I can relate to Moses. There have been more times than I would like to admit that I’ve said to the Lord, “Are you sure you have the right person?” I struggled with writing in school, public speaking used to be one of my biggest fears and let’s not even talk about my past! Whew! This unworthy servant joins the ranks of so many others that came before. Then there was Gideon, who after the Lord handed over the Israelites to Midian for seven years, called upon him to deliver the Israelites from Midian.

15 “Pardon me, my lord,” Gideon replied, “but how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my family.” Judges 6:15

God continued His pattern, and chose Gideon who was weak and young and it doesn’t stop with Gideon. Throughout the Bible from Genesis to Revelation God does this. We haven’t even gotten to David who defeats Goliath (1 Samuel 14). God literally uses the weak to lead the strong. It’s how He rolls, as my kids would say. Through our weakness and submission to Him, He can do a great work in us and through us for His glory. I dare say, in ways we would have never imagined or asked for.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Be assured that if God calls you, He will equip you. Don’t believe your past is to broken, your courage to fragile or that you don’t have what it takes to serve our Lord. He is calling all of us in one way or another to share our faith, to be the light in this dark world and to love our neighbor as ourselves. Will you trust? Will you follow His lead?

Leave a Reply

