Heaven Revealed ~ Will we eat there?

Standard

This is the 5th blog in my Heaven Revealed series. After being asked about Heaven on several occasions it inspired me to dig deeper into the scriptures to find out the answers to questions that I may have thought about as a child, but hadn’t considered until recently asked. This week we are going to explore what scripture says about food in Heaven.

I have often said, “Oh, I hope in Heaven I can eat at much chocolate and drink as much sweet tea as I want and not gain 1 pound.” It would be so nice not to have to spend brain power on every morsel I put in my mouth and when I’m going to fit in a little exercise as this body of mine ages. I’ve said it jokingly (maybe you have too), but never considered actually checking the scriptures to see if there was any indication about whether this would be the case until now.

Interestingly, there are lots of times  “feasts” or “banquets” are mentioned when it comes to the “new Earth” (when God returns), but I want to start with an example from Jesus concerning what may be a indication of food in the current Heaven before we move on to those.  Many of us are very familiar with the verses from Luke where Jesus appears to His disciples after His resurrection.

And while they still did not believe it because of joy and amazement, he asked them, “Do you have anything here to eat?” They gave him a piece of broiled fish,  and he took it and ate it in their presence. Luke 24:41-43

In these verses Jesus has risen from the dead, been resurrected, and when He appears asked the disciples for food. What an amazing thing to witness. Can you picture it? The awe, surprise and joy they experience when they realize their Savior has returned to them. They hadn’t shared food with Jesus since the Last Supper and here they were again – all together. Jesus asked for food in His resurrected body, could this mean we will also have food in current Heaven?

Now, let’s look at some verses that refer to feasting in the “new earth”. There are so many. Please use your concordance or http://www.biblegateway.com to look up more if you are interested. It’s fascinating. Here are a few I found:

Jesus says, “I say to you that many will come from the east and the west, and will take their places at the feast with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven. Matthew 8:11

On this mountain the Lord Almighty will prepare a feast of rich food for all peoples, a banquet of aged wine— the best of meats and the finest of wines. Isaiah 25:6

And I saw an angel standing in the sun, who cried in a loud voice to all the birds flying in midair, “Come, gather together for the great supper of God, Revelation 19:17

I simply adore how it’s called “supper” in Revelation. I could only find “supper” used in reference to the Last Supper and God’s return supper in Revelation.

Will we eat? Yes! Will it be a feast of celebration (like Thanksgiving and Christmas everyday)? We can only  imagine, but there will food and probably a lot less family drama. I pray I will see you all at the “wedding supper of the Lamb” after His glorious return and I hope there will be chocolate.

Then the angel said to me, “Write this: Blessed are those who are invited to the wedding supper of the Lamb!” And he added, “These are the true words of God.” Revelation 19:9

Leave a Reply

