Jesus and Angels

Standard

This is my 3rd blog in a series called “Jesus Said”. The purpose of this series it to take a closer look at the word of God and discover the message God has for us so we don’t drift away from the life He desires for us. Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.  Hebrews 2:1  Today we are looking at what Jesus said about angels.

Hebrews 1 and 2 are filled with references to angels and how Jesus stands out among them. I find it fascinating how the unknown author of Hebrews takes so much time pointing out to his readers that Jesus is no ordinary angel or person. Jesus stands out! He is above the angels, and as these verses point out, God never spoke of any of His angels the way He spoke about Jesus.

For to which of the angels did God ever say, “You are my Son, today I have begotten you”? Or again, I will be to him a father,and he shall be to me a son”? And again, when he brings the firstborn into the world, he says, “Let all God’s angels worship him.” Hebrews 1:5-6
Then, we get to the actual references that Jesus uses in His life and parables.
In the parable of the lost sheep where Jesus is talking about the value of children, He says, “See that you do not despise one of these little ones. For I tell you that in heaven their angels always see the face of my Father who is in Heaven.Matthew 18:10
Even here, as Jesus awaits His faith in the Garden of Gethsemane, He says to Peter as he tries to defend Him, Put your sword back into its place. For all who take the sword will perish by the sword. Do you think that I cannot appeal to my Father, and he will at once send me more than twelve legions of angels? But how then should the Scriptures be fulfilled, that it must be so?” Matthew 26:52-54
My children have asked me so many times if angels really exist. There are have been times in my life where people I don’t know (or do) have shown up at just the right time to help me when I was in need. I have even said to them, “Thank you for being my angel today.” I have had others say the same to me. I have felt the presence of angels at the death bed of two dear friends. However, before digging into the scriptures to see what Jesus said about angels, I couldn’t say with confidence, “Yes! angels to exist!”
Studying the word of God is so important. We can’t answer the important questions in life, find the correct guidance and grow closer to a Heavenly Father that loves us beyond imagination without sitting down and picking it up for ourselves. I pray as we continue to move through this “Jesus Said” series you will be inspired to grab your Bible off the shelf and dig a little deeper into the topic on your heart.
Leave a Reply

