Jealous for God

Standard

Do not worship any other god, for the Lord, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God. Exodus 34:14

We read in the Bible about how our God is a jealous. How He desires to be first in our lives, for us to seek Him, pray and talk to Him daily. However, this week I experienced being jealous FOR Him! I gained a first hand experience into the meanings of these passages. I received the most amazing, heart-felt, God-inspried e-mail from a friend. She was sharing what God had revealed to her through the scriptures and wanted to share it with those she loved. I was so grateful because we spent last week moving and unpacking so there was little time or energy left to sit quietly with God like I enjoy doing. I admit, I was jealous! I woke up at 3 a.m. and spent some time praying. Confessing to God that I was jealous for time, insight, audible whispers and inspiration. All the gifts I only receive after spending time with God in His word. Oh, how I was jealous for Him.

He quickly spoke to my heart and said, “Allison, this is how I feel when your life becomes some hectic you don’t take time be with me. I am jealous of all the other things you spend your time and energy on. I love you, desire for you to seek me in all you do and spend time in communication with me.”

I am so grateful for these insights into His love. Only God can take jealousy and a wild week of moving and unpacking into a divine insight into who He is, was and always will be.

I pray this Christmas in all the hustle and bustle that God takes every peaceful or crazy moment and opens your eyes in a new way to the amazing gift of His son Jesus, His great love for each of us and His desire to be in the middle of our lives.

Merry Christmas!

IMG_2749

Leave a Reply

