Is God Magic?

Standard

I ran across this e-mail that I sent to my one and only, favorite God-daughter several years ago. She had called and left me a message asking two important things she was pondering. . . . Is God magic? How does He live in everyone’s heart? I felt compelled to share it with all of you. It’s these simple questions that our children ask that can shape their faith and grow their hearts closer to Christ. I pray we take the time and allow God to speak through us when we have the opportunity to answer their questions. Whether it’s for our own children, grandchildren or someone else’s child He places in our path; I pray we take every opportunity to plant a seed when given the chance.

Dear Hadley,

I was so happy to hear your voice on my messages when I woke up this morning. I can tell you are a very smart young lady and you asked some great questions.

I thought I would write this out for you so you can read it over and over again. Sometimes it helps me learn when I can do that. And, you will need to teach your little sister all about God one day too. You asked if God was magic. He isn’t magic. He is something much more. He has powers and is able to do things that we can’t even imagine because there is no one else like Him anywhere.

He never has to sleep, He knows everything – even the numbers of hairs we have on our heads. I know this because in the Bible it says,

“I know that the LORD is great, that our Lord is greater than all gods.” Psalm 135:5

He who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, He who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.” Psalm 121

And “Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered.” Luke 12:7

No one on earth knows how God does it, but we know He does because He tells us in the Bible and the Bible is how God speaks to us now that He lives in Heaven and not on earth.

All this is hard to understand for mommies and daddies too,  so don’t worry if it is hard to understand. Part of being a Christian is believing in God even though we can’t see Him.  It’s like love, we can’t see love, but we know it’s there because we feel it.

That brings us to your next question. How does God live in all of our hearts (yours, mine, your mom’s and dad’s). This is another thing that is great and very unique about God. Like water (that can be liquid or frozen or steam coming out of a pot), God can take all forms. When God sent Jesus to earth to die for our sins on the cross He made us a promise that His Spirit would always live with us here on earth. Again, we don’t really understand how He does it, but He loves all of us so much He is able to live in anyone’s heart that loves Him and believes in Him. It is His gift to us and the greatest gift we will ever receive.

God loves you so much. I am so proud of you for asking these questions so you can learn more about Him. God created us all to wonder about Him and seek Him. . . you are fulfilling that desire and need, so I know God is smiling at you.

Love, Allison (November 14, 2010)

 

 

Leave a Reply

