My Sweet Spot ~ a personal note

Standard

allie38

In a recent sermon, Pastor Mike (www.gethope.net) said, “When you are in the sweet spot of God’s will you have a confidence, strength and courage like none other.” This sentiment was just what I had shared with a dear friend at dinner a week earlier.

In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps. Proverbs 16:9 NIV

Let me explain . . . . a year and a half ago the Lord began nudging me in a direction that I never thought possible ~ a direction I didn’t think I ever wanted to go . . . home schooling. I know! I have said all the same things people say to me these days. “Oh, I could never do that. I wish I could, but I would kill my children (not literally of course). They would never listen to me.”

For me, what it really boiled down to was my selfishness. My selfishness. Let me be VERY clear. God is not calling everyone into this. There are those who should never consider this. Those who wish they could, but can’t and those who do, but shouldn’t. I’m saying that for me the reason it took a year and a half to say yes and fall into obedience with God’s will for me and my children was selfishness. I was worried about my time, my ministry, my need for adult interaction, my fabulous freedom while they were in school . . . the list could go on and on.

You open your hand and satisfy the desires of every living thing. The Lord is righteous in all his ways and faithful in all he does. The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. Psalm 145:16-18 NIV

The Sweet Spot . . . we are into home schooling almost a month now and I can’t tell you the peace, confidence and courage I am filled with. I am putting a ministry that I’ve been building for years on hold, giving up yoga classes, tons of free time and the flexibility of dozens of coffee and lunch appointments every week . . . BUT . . . and this is the crazy thing . . .  so crazy that you know it’s God because you could never pull it off alone. . . I’m fine with it. I don’t mind that all that is coming to an end. I’m giving up a lot and gaining even more. I have no idea why or how, but I feel at peace. I’m in my sweet spot with God. He has given me confirmation after confirmation that I’m following His will. He is so kind and so gracious. Even when I doubt myself, my choices, my abilities and what is best for my children. I can trust Him.

Now, everyday I’m teaching my children, watching them learn, incorporating God’s design for creation into their science classes, teaching them what I’ve learned and sharing my mistakes. We are learning together. Exploring new equations, vocabulary and history together. It’s amazing. I know everyday wont’ be filled with laughter, fun, rainbows and smiley faces! There will be days that I want to lock myself in my closet and cry (and I just might do it), but that’s ok. God will be right there with me – crying in closet.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6 NIV

Seven years ago, I could have NEVER imagine what God had in store as I typed about finding Him in my ordinary daily life. And yet, He used my fingers, heart and mouth to write and share His words with hundreds.  Now, He has guided me in a new direction. Once again, a road I would have never expected, but His road and if I’ve learned anything as I’ve grown closer to Him over the past few years it’s this . . . I NEVER want to be outside of HIs will.  I want to live FOREVER in the sweet spot of God’s will for my life.

Today, I ask you this . . . . is there anything God has been nudging or calling you to do? Take a step of faith and jump into your sweet spot with God. It’s breathtaking. It’s inspiring. It’s almost unbelievable the peace you can experience. I would love to hear your stories of obedience and sweet spot living. E-mail me!

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21 NIV

****Just a note: although I will not be writing or speaking much this year, I plan to continue to blog. It may not be weekly as I intend, but it will continue for now. And maybe in a year or two I’ll be back full swing in this ministry that I’ve been called to set aside for now, but until then  . . . . . . . . . . . .

Leave a Reply

