Psalms + Pool = You just never know!

Standard

As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew. They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will send you out to fish for people.” At once they left their nets and followed him. Matthew 4:18-20

I took the kids to the pool today to enjoy one of the last few days of summer. It was a glorious day with low humidity and temperatures. A very rare thing for the last few days of a southern summer. As I sat by the pool and watched the kids enjoy the diving board and slash with friends I dug deeper into Psalms. [A few weeks ago our pastor challenged us to read the book of Psalms in 30 days and I LOVE a good challenge . . . .so]

. . . on one of the life guard breaks the kids wandered over to my chair with a friend of theirs from school. I adore this child. She is bold, inquisitive and very caring. She asked why I was reading the dictionary. And the kids quickly replied, “she is studying the book of Psalms – it’s in the Bible not the dictionary.” Then she asked me a question I have never been asked, “Why are you studying that book?”

Honestly, I have never had anyone ask me why I study the Bible. I am always sharing with others, when I go to speak to women’s group, how to study it and why they should, but I have never had anyone ask me this. It was awesome and for just the fourth or fifth time in my life 🙂 I was speechless ~ but just for a moment.

Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Deuteronomy 11:18-19

Have you ever thought about it?

My answer [for this nine year old and probably anyone else who would have asked me] was this: “I study it to learn more about God so I can grow closer to Him and learn how to be a better person to everyone around me.”  I’m glad I didn’t have more time to prepare an answer or I may have made it more complicated than it needed to be because that is the simplest most honest answer. Most of the time, I think if we all just kept it a little more simple and pure those we share with might not be so intimidated about investigating and discovering our amazing, loving and mighty Father in heaven through His word.

When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them. Mark 10:14-16

Here’s to keeping it SIMPLE!!!

Leave a Reply

