Vanilla Ice had it RIGHT!

Standard

God looks down from heaven on the children of man to see if there are any who understand, who seek after God. Psalm 53:2 ESV

I was in college when the singer Vanilla Ice came out with his “Ice Ice Baby” song.  I remember recording  it on a cassette tape while it played on the radio. That’s old school, right?! Then my college roommates and I would listen to it over and over again, writing down all the lyrics and memorizing them. Stopping and rewinding to decode as we went. I heard this song again recently and the beginning caught my attention in a new way.

“All right stop, Collaborate and listen!”

These are the words that begin the song. They stuck in my head for the day and I began thinking how true that statement really was. (Yes, I can even find Jesus in a really old rap song). If we will STOP before we speak, act or worry, then COLLABORATE with the Lord on how to handle the situation or gain control of our emotions and LISTEN for His voice ~ we would be much better off. The world would be a more beautiful place. Our families would be more stable. Our neighbors would see Christ shining through us more often and God’s glory would be more evident in this dark temporary world we live in.

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. Psalm 63:1 ESV

It would be a difficult taste to find lessons in some of the remaining lyrics of this song, but oh, how Vanilla Ice had it right in this opening verse!  I pray we will all remember to stop, collaborate and listen to our Heavenly Father every minute of everyday, before every word, action and deed. If we are going to live according to His word, share His love with others and trust His ways, it will not be by our power and might, but by His Spirit that lives in us if we allow Him in.

Both riches and honor come from you, and you rule over all. In your hand are power and might, and in your hand it is to make great and to give strength to all. 1 Chronicles 29:12 ESV

 

Leave a Reply

