The Four D’s

Standard
Give me your lantern and compass, give me a map, So I can find my way to the sacred mountain, to the place of your presence, To enter the place of worship, meet my exuberant God. Sing my thanks with a harp, magnificent God, my God. Psalm 43:3 (MSG)

There is a great store in downtown New Bern, NC called The Four C’s (I think it stands for coastal casual clothing company). I used to work there when I was in high school. When I go home to see mom and dad we usually check in and see what’s new at the store and visit with the store owner (who is also a neighbor of my parents and has been since I was about 4 years olds). BUT, today isn’t about the 4 C’s ~ it’s about the 4 D’s.

Disobedience ~~~~~ Desert ~~~~~~ Discipline~~~~~~~Deliverance

I was thinking about the cycle of sin, addiction, shame and pain we can get caught up in as we try to navigate these CrAzY waters of life. I picture it as a circle, like the picture of the compass above, because for some reason we seem to always be in one of these phases. It is continuous and repeats itself over and over again throughout our lives. It starts with Disobedience ~ maybe directly disobeying one of God’s commandments, spending less time with Him, or falling out of line with His will for your life . . . . . These brings on the Desert phase which makes us feel like we are wandering around alone and very far away from God. We don’t hear His whisper or understand His word . . . . . then we usually receive a little Discipline ~ where the natural consequences of our disobedience take root, but hopefully it draws us back to Christ for our Deliverance. Deliverance from the sin that has taken root in our hearts and drawn us away from God. We are given deliverance through His blood and forgiven to start fresh. Hopefully, the more we go through the cycle the more we try to stay in the deliverance stage and soak in all of God’s glory through our obedience to Him.

The waters of life seem uncharted at times, but there is always one place we can go for direction. One who is and always will be our compass and will never lead us in the wrong direction. The question is will we seek the direction of the only one who can offer us this deliverance or stay the course of this world that only leads to destruction.

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. Matthew 7:13-15

Leave a Reply

