You Can Take Your Rules and . . . .

Standard

Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God. Romans 13:1

We sold our house this month and have moved into a rental house while we build another house (the life of a builder’s wife). The house we are renting is in a small quiet neighborhood that I really like. But, it also has a VERY active homeowner’s association. VERY!!! They love to create and enforce the rules, regulations and bylaws that have been put in place. And that is good. When there are laws we need people to enforce them and we need people to follow them. Stick with me, I promise I’m going somewhere with this!

However, and I’m not proud to admit this, but I sometimes (O.K. most of the time) struggle with this type of authority. Don’t get me wrong, I’m down with safety, quiet and clean, but the color of my house, when I take my trash can to the street or how I park my car just isn’t going to stop the world or endanger it. It’s those “let me tell you how I want you to live, act and respond” rules that get under my skin when it’s coming from others. I know this is a heart issue and the first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem, right?!

Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” 1 Peter 5:5

God’s word tells us over and over again that we must submit to authority out of humility and simply the fact that God is the only REAL authority around these parts and if someone is in authority it’s only because He allowed it for one reason or another (Romans 13:1).  Amen!!! I know we mostly think about our government when we read these verses on submitting to authority, but it’s so much more. It includes anyone in authority: our employers, local police, church leaders, board members and much to my dismay even homeowner’s boards. When we ignore them we are essentially telling God we don’t trust His plan, His leaders or His authority. When we look at it from a Godly perspective, it certainly makes it a little easier to swallow.

Submitting to one another out of reverence for Christ. Ephesians 5:21

After a  week of being here,  I’m beginning to see that God is working on me in this aspect of my heart. It’s been a problem for a while, but this is my time. My opportunity to allow Him in and restore a heart that isn’t looking like His yet. Today’s lesson is preparing me for something that is coming. So I’ll embrace it, pray for strength and patience and watch out for His divine lessons that He is masking with an ordinary situation.

What heart issue is God encouraging you to face and overcome? Facing it isn’t easy or fun, but it He restoration brings joy and fruit we could have never imagined.

L – Let it Go

O – On your Knees

V – Very passionately

E – Everyday

Leave a Reply

