R U Following Me?

Standard

Winter 2013 and 2014 052

“If you are following me, you are lost too!”

This was the bumper sticker I saw on a car as I made my way to a meeting. It struck me funny at first, but as I looked at things through “God” lenses I thought about these nine words over and over. It is so sad and yet so true to realize how many people walk around everyday who live this way. Following everyone around them. Those of this world instead of God. Looking only to the person beside them at work, a neighbor, friend, spouse or mentor.

Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Matthew 10:38 NIV

The reason we get lost is because we follow the crowd. Seeking wisdom from the world instead of the Creator of all we see. Stuck in the herd of life we loss sight of the cross ~ of God’s light in this dark world. As John Bunyan describes (in book The Pilgrim’s Progress), a pilgrim on a journey to the celestial city (God’s kingdom) who passed through many trials and temptations strove daily to keep his eyes towards the light of the celestial city. Sometimes along his journey he would forget and be tempted to take an easier path, but when discovering the path that had looked easier only led to destruction and deadly giants he would find his way back to God’s highway and keep his eyes focused once again on the light of God’s city.

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27 NIV

Truly, when we follow others we will end up lost. We should look to God first, then to those He has placed around us who are of like mind and seek wisdom through our Father and His word. As we celebrated Easter and a risen Lord we focused on Him, but let us remember that although He no longer walks this earth ~ He lives in each of us. He desires for us to seek Him,  know Him and trust Him. Follow God FIRST ~ and the rest will fall into place and He will never lead you astray.

Leave a Reply

