Resting takes WORK

Standard

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. Colossians 3:23-24 NIV

When I had the flu last week, I realized  how much work and energy it took just to rest. To rest while laundry sat and taunted me, dishes piled up, kids and their homework arrived home from school and e-mails continued to ding as they entered my inbox. The world doesn’t stop ~ no matter how sick, angry, sad, frustrated or busy we are. God tells us in Colossians to work willingly at whatever we do ~ as though we were working for Him. I always thought of this verse when I was washing dishes, folding laundry, changing diapers or any of those other menial tasks that I come across as a mom, wife and woman. Although, I now realize that God recognizes how much work it takes for us to turn the world off and seek Him, to trust His Word and rest in His plan.

Why do we fight rest so much? Even God rested!

For somewhere he has spoken about the seventh day in these words: “On the seventh day God rested from all his works.” Hebrews 4:4 NIV

So what do we do now that we realize how much work rest can be? Embrace it! Acknowledge it takes work to be still so when we are making the effort we approach it “with all of our heart, as working for the Lord”. When we work at resting, His voice becomes more and more audible. The volume of the world goes down and the effects it has on us will be great. Are you willing to let His peace, love, guidance, mercy, forgiveness, love, gentleness and grace effect you?

I think we’ll all be surprised at how working at becoming masters of rest will make us better people.

Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him.Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.  Psalm 62:1-2 NIV

Leave a Reply

