What do you want?

Standard

As a mom, I’m the “go to” girl for information around our house so I get a lot of questions. I call them rhetorical questions because if the “askers” would think for more than two seconds for themselves they wouldn’t have to ask the question because they already know the answer. Why do we ask questions we already know the answers to?

If the question is “Where are my keys?” ~ I decided it could be laziness or  the need for help. On the other hand, if the question is “What do we say after someone gives us a present?”  ~ it’s can be for validation that we are on the same page or a gentle reminder. I noticed that Jesus asked a lot of questions. Certainly, of all the people that have ever walked this plant, He was the last person who needed answers or help. Jesus asked questions to spark thought, to remind and to teach.

Here is one question that stood out to me that Jesus asked over and over to those He came in contact with:

Matthew 20:32 (MSG) Jesus stopped and called over, “What do you want from me?”

Matthew 26:39 (MSG) Going a little ahead, he fell on his face, praying, “My Father, if there is any way, get me out of this. But please, not what I want. You, what do you want?”

Mark 10:51 (MSG) Jesus said, “What can I do for you?”The blind man said, “Rabbi, I want to see.”

Luke 18:40 (MSG) Jesus stopped and ordered him to be brought over. When he had come near, Jesus asked, “What do you want from me?”

What do you want?
Did you notice in Matthew 26:39 Jesus asks God, His Father what He wants. Jesus is fearful of what lies ahead for Him on the cross and asks if there is any other way to save mankind from their sin, but in the end says, “but not what I want, what you want, Father.”
How would you feel if you walked up to the clerk in a store seeking advice or guidance on a purchase and they simply said, “What do you want from me?, we may see that as rude or contrite. However, when we consider Jesus asking us this we have to look at it a little differently. Jesus has EVERYTHING to offer us so it’s important to know what we want or desire from Him as we seek Him in prayer. There have been many times I’ve gone to God in prayer so confused and buried in grief or worry that I don’t know how to answer the question when He asks. So, I pray for Him to show me the answer.
But, when we are clear about what we want, whether it’s courage, faith, trust, perseverance, healing, direction, etc. and we feel confident if Jesus was standing before us we could ask without embarrassment and selfishness ~ we can ask for it with complete FAITH and TRUST in Him. When we know what we want ~ we aren’t asking out of laziness or the desire for a magic fix, we are asking out of obedience, faith and a desire to draw closer to Him no matter what the path.
How do you know what you want and what to ask for? If Jesus was standing before you today asking you in person “What do you want?”, what would you ask for? I guessing it wouldn’t something material like a new house or car. It probably wouldn’t be selfish like asking God to punish someone who had wronged you.
As you go about your day today . . . consider what you want. . . I’ll be doing the same!
Leave a Reply

