Submit & Obey & Work, Oh, My!

Standard

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, Colossians 3:23 NIV

I asked my son to empty the dishwasher before school. He was dressed with teeth brushed, lunch packed and homework done.  I immediately got the “you always ask me to do everything and treat me like a servant” comment. I moved past the comment and made my request again. He reluctantly began to unload the the dishes grumbling the entire time. He complained about not knowing where anything went. He stacked glasses one inside the other to place them in the cabinet and left the silverware basket in the floor. I endured about 10 minutes of this before I snapped. “Never mind”,  I said. “I don’t want your help if you are going to act like this. After all the things I do for you and you can’t even empty a few dishes without complaining the entire time. Get out of my kitchen. If you can’t work willingly at whatever you do as if you are doing it for God – GET OUT!” (Funny side note: I keep Colossians 3:23 on the window above my sink so I read it every time I’m doing dishes.)

Ah, parenting! No one ever said it would be easy, right?! As I reflected later on this ordeal it reminded me of how God must feel every  minute of His amazing existence. He has done way more than give birth to me, take me to the doctor, read me stories at night, feed me, clothe me and wash my clothes. He sent His only Son to DIE – to be executed, humiliated, ridiculed and tortured for me – for each of us. But, when He asks something of me that doesn’t fit my schedule, my plan, my idea of how things should be my first reaction is to  pout, complain and make excuses. I do it with an unwilling heart instead of a servant’s heart – even after all He has done and has promised for me.

I’m sure there have been more than a few thousand times He wanted to yell,  “Never mind, I don’t want your help if you are going to act like this. After all the things I do for you and you can’t even do this without complaining the entire time. If you can’t work willingly at whatever you do as if you are doing it for me – GET OUT!” I’m thankful God’s patience, grace, forgiveness and love endure all and never run out. I’m certainly a child that tests His patience some days, but I’m not giving up. I will continue to seek Him, know Him, trust Him, love Him and have an increasing amount of faith in Him through my study of His word and prayer. I won’t let the sacrifice He made for me go to waste. I’ll keep seeking Him. Will you  join me?

18 Wives, submit yourselves to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord. 19 Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them. 20 Children, obey your parents in everything, for this pleases the Lord. 21 Fathers,do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged. 22 Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to curry their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord. 23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. 25 Anyone who does wrong will be repaid for their wrongs, and there is no favoritism. Colossians 3:18-25 NIV

**I’m no longer on Facebook so please follow me on Twitter, Pinterest or Instagram**

Leave a Reply

