Tropical Christmas?

Standard

It was a gorgeous day. Shorts, t-shirt, flip-flops and windows down, I was riding around town running errands. As I passed stores with icicles and  Christmas decorations while listening to Christmas carols I thought to myself, “This is weird. Even in the South this just doesn’t fit. It doesn’t feel like Christmas is just a few weeks away.”

It reminded me of when a harsh or judgmental words come from my  mouth, when my mind is overcome with worry and control instead of leaning on Christ and His provision, when pride and selfishness block the whispers of God, when my fears overcome my faith. . . . Those actions don’t look or feel right coming from a woman who has God in her heart and I’m quickly convicted.

All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by mankind, but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. 9With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. 10 Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. 11 Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? 12 My brothers and sisters, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water. James 3:7-12 (NIV)

In these verses, James is discussing the importance of taming the tongue, but our actions are just as important as our words. Just like a 70 degree Christmas feels strange ~ so should a mouth and mind full of bitterness, judgement and selfishness. Our hearts and minds need to be set on Jesus. Our eyes focused on the cross. Notice what verse James 3:8 says, “but no human being can tame the tongue.”

I pray we all will rely on our Heavenly Father to keep us focused on Him. To fill our minds and mouths with His joy, peace, mercy and patience because it’s not possible without Him. We are “restless, evil and full of deadly poison” (v.8) without Him. We are only dust and ashes, but He died for us anyway. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

