Master or Servant

Standard

“I’m not your servant, Emma”, my son yelled at his sister. She was having one of those bossy days. “Do this. Don’t do that. Put this up. Would you get me this?”, were flying out of her mouth right and left. Our pride doesn’t like it when people tell us what to do and how to live. We can begin to feel uncomfortable and overtaken when those who don’t share our exact ideals and values start expressing their views.

Even though I am free of the demands and expectations of everyone, I have voluntarily become a servant to any and all in order to reach a wide range of people: religious, nonreligious, meticulous moralists, loose-living immoralists, the defeated, the demoralized—whoever. I didn’t take on their way of life. I kept my bearings in Christ—but I entered their world and tried to experience things from their point of view. I’ve become just about every sort of servant there is in my attempts to lead those I meet into a God-saved life. I did all this because of the Message. I didn’t just want to talk about it; I wanted to be in on it! 1 Corinthians 9:19-23 (The Message)

As Christians, we often forget that we aren’t the master. We serve the Master, but we are not Him. Our job, our mission, our calling is to be a servant to all. To share His love, His grace, His mercy and His story. Just because we love those who aren’t Christians, who don’t agree with us politically, who don’t share our same values or morals doesn’t mean we agree with them. It doesn’t mean we are going to start acting like them, change our beliefs, our traditions or lose our faith ~ it just means we love them.  We love them so we strive to meet them where they are and where they have been. We are called to be servants of all ~ because none of us deserves a Master that loves unconditionally and forgives constantly, but by grace have been given Him anyway.

This was on my heart as we approach Christmas. As we hear Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas. As our children learn about Kwanza, Hanukkah and other holiday traditions from around the world. We have no need to  worry about losing Christ as our center as long as WE keep our bearings on Him. As long as the Living Savior is our Light, our Compass and the middle of all we think, do and say. We should unruffle our feathers and as 1 Corinthians 9:19 says “voluntarily become a servant to any and all”  which is our only hope of introducing them to the one and only Master and Creator.

My point is that if we weren’t so worried about being the master ~ we could all be much better servants to our Master. I’m praying God gives me a servant’s heart in this world that constantly tries to tell me I’m the master. Will you join me in this prayer?

Leave a Reply

