Spiritual Laryngitis

Standard

but God has surely listened and has heard my prayer. Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me!Psalm 66:19-20

I had laryngitis last week. It was so frustrating not being able to communicate like I normally do. When I did try to talk, it was hard to understand and I felt bad because it wasn’t helping my throat heal. I wanted to sit at dinner with my husband and kids, ask questions about their day, share mine and laugh. I felt like my hands had been tied, I was feeling left out and on the sidelines. Communication is vital to growing and strengthening relationships. Without it, they fizzle out and die from a lack of intimacy.

I tell you this because it made me realize, once again, how important prayer is. I don’t usually use definitions from Wikipedia, but I loved the first sentence they used to define prayer. It said, “Prayer is an  invocation or act that seeks to activate a rapport with a deity, an object of worship, or a spiritual entity through deliberate communication.” I love that  . . . . prayer activates relationship through  DELIBERATE (on purpose) communication.

I call on you, my God, for you will answer me; turn your ear to me and hear my prayer. Psalm 17:6

When we aren’t in communication with God everything is more difficult, we can’t feel His presence, we can’t hear His whisper, we aren’t learning from Him, we are on the sidelines. Our two most powerful weapons against the world and Satan are the Bible and prayer. They provide the foundation we need to live out what we love ~ the love of Christ.

Prayer = communication = companionship = a heart that seeks God above all else and strives to live according to His word.

The main cause of spiritual laryngitis is us. God always hears, always listens . . . in fact He waits on us to come to Him and have deliberate communication.  Will you sit down with Him and a cup of hot tea this week?

They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. Acts 2:42

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Laryngitis

  1. And what a sweet gift to be forced to speak less and listen more to our God! The one who, when He speaks, it is an event! And matters! As He gives ear to us, we give ear to him. I needed these scriptures today. Thank you! p.s. I’ve been flossing! : )

    • Hugs to you, sweet friend. Praying you are having a great week and finding God in your everyday moments. You are such a blessing. I’m thankful to have had the opportunity to meet you. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

