Shattered!

Standard

He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just.
A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he. Deuteronomy 32:4

I had been out all morning and returned home to complete a few things before picking up the kids from school. When I walked into the dining room (which doubles as an office) I noticed two pictures had fallen off the wall. The picture above another had fallen and taken out the one below it on the way down. There was glass everywhere. It had shattered and scattered. My afternoon was spent cleaning up instead of accomplishing the tasks I had planned on.

That has happened with events in my life too. How about you? I’m on a path. Things are looking up, going smoothly and I’m on a steady course when BAM!  I’m sideswiped with bad or discouraging news or events. My plans are shattered and I have to redirect and start picking up the pieces. It usually happens when we are least expecting it because thankfully, many of us aren’t sitting around waiting for the bad stuff to happen. The betrayals, deaths, discouragement, fear, anger or when sin simply gets the better of us aren’t on our “to do” lists ~ they just happen. Sometimes we are receiver and sometimes we are the giver.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. James 1:2-4

The question is, what will we do when things fall apart ~ when our lives are shattered? Will we run? Pretend it isn’t happening? Buckle under the pressures of the world and follow the path most taken?

Or will we praise God for the opportunity to show others His strength, peace and blessings? The things only He can offer in the midst of our darkest hour.

What will we do with those times?

The answer lies deep within each of our hearts.  It might even be something we don’t know the answer to until we are faced with the situation. Either way, I pray when it does we will all enter through the presence of our Heavenly Father and trust Him to lead us, guide us and help us pick up the pieces. It reminds me of verse four from The Dessert Song by Hillsong that says, “This is my prayer in the harvest, When favor and providence flow, I know I’m filled to be emptied again, The seed I’ve recieved I will sow.”

He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. Psalm 40:2

 

 

Leave a Reply

