How do you like your eggs?

Standard

It’s funny, God used to teach me so much through my children and He still does, but they are in school everyday now so we don’t have as much time together. So now, He is teaching me through my chickens. I know! Don’t worry, I won’t judge you for thinking I’m crazy. Now that our chickens are finally laying eggs, we have had a difficult time getting them to lay in their nesting boxes. Instead, they have made a nest under our deck and prefer to lay them there. So we’ve researched how to make their nesting boxes more desirable for laying eggs and are hoping for the desired results!

What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in my sinful nature slave to the law of sin. Romans 7:24-25 (NIV)

I was thinking about how often we get headed in the wrong direction: We start a habit that isn’t Godly and it’s difficult to break or we aren’t in God’s word enough to know what direction is even the best way to go.  We start making our own decisions, our own plans and we don’t consider the laws God provided for us out of love and for our protection.  We don’t seek His council or wisdom through prayer and His written word.

I’ve tried everything and nothing helps. I’m at the end of my rope. Is there no one who can do anything for me? Isn’t that the real question? The answer, thank God, is that Jesus Christ can and does. He acted to set things right in this life of contradictions where I want to serve God with all my heart and mind, but am pulled by the influence of sin to do something totally different. Romans 7:24-25 (MSG)

Thankfully, like us (the chicken farmers), our God continues to pursue us. His word teaches, rebukes, corrects and trains us in His ways and with His help, His love, His grace and His mercy the desired outcome is reached. No, there won’t ever be perfection on our own ~ only through Christ, but when we continually seek Him He will fill us so that our every word, deed and thought is for His glory.

How do you like your eggs? I like mine in the nesting box where I can find them and the wild critters can’t eat them! And I like my heart, my actions and my words a lot more when I’m in the word of God!  Join me?

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of Godmay be thoroughly equipped for every good work. 2 Timothy 3:16-17 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

