Hands Up!

Standard

Then Amalek came and fought with Israel at Rephidim. So Moses said to Joshua, “Choose for us men, and go out and fight with Amalek. Tomorrow I will stand on the top of the hill with the staff of God in my hand.” So Joshua did as Moses told him, and fought with Amalek, while Moses, Aaron, and Hur went up to the top of the hill. Whenever Moses held up his hand, Israel prevailed, and whenever he lowered his hand, Amalek prevailed. But Moses’ hands grew weary, so they took a stone and put it under him, and he sat on it, while Aaron and Hur held up his hands, one on one side, and the other on the other side. So his hands were steady until the going down of the sun. And Joshua overwhelmed Amalek and his people with the sword. Exodus 17:8-13 (ESV)

This is a passage I have read many times, but really stood out when I came across it recently. Notice what happened when Moses grew weary ~ Aaron and Hur put a stone under him so he could sit and each one held up one of his hands so the Israelites would continue to win the battle.

When I have the opportunity to share Christ with a group of women I always encourage them to get to know Christ on a deeper level by studying His word and seeing Him at work in their daily lives. One of the most important ways to make this happen is to find a group of women that are: like-minded, can meet regularly, willing to hold you accountable, be in prayer for each other and study God’s word together. God has provided me with an amazing group of Christian women and mentors that have come along side me and hold up my hands when I’m weary. They stand in the gap (with prayer) for me when my mind is overwhelmed and even when I’m not. They check in on me and hold me accountable for keeping Christ in the center. I trust them to put my bottom on a rock (my strong foundation) and hold up my hands to give God glory even when praising Him seems like the most unlikely thing to do.

The greatest part about these women is that they allow me to do it for them too ~ when they are weary, when they feel defeated, when the world is trying to overcome them, when they are seeking Christ above all else and need His wisdom . . . they have allowed me into their lives and let me lift them up when they are tired.

I pray you have women in your life like this and that you are a woman like this for someone else. If you do, I encourage you to write them a letter and tell them how much they mean to you. If you don’t, I urge you to look for a small group or Bible study to join at your local church. Pray for God to lead you to the right group of women. Maybe He is even nudging you to be the leader of a group of church family, friends or neighbors.

I pray we all adopt more of a “You lead, I’ll follow, Lord!” approach to our lives so as He stretches out His hand we are in the place we need to be to receive His blessing.

The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. Matthew 7:25 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

