Gillette Man

Standard

Let them praise the name of the LORD, for at his command they were created, Psalm 148:5

For the past several days, I have used my husbands deodorant. That may be TMI (too much information for some of you), but it’s not like I’m wearing his underwear. Anyway, I have smelled like a Gillette man. I like getting a whiff of my husband here and there, but this isn’t something I will continue to do – promise! It’s just until I make it to Target. This scent wasn’t meant for me. It’s for a man. Let’s face it, just because I am happily married and not looking for a date doesn’t mean I want to smell like a man. Stay with me. I really do have a point here. After all, this blog is about finding God in the ordinary.
For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. Ephesians 2:10
It occurred to me, that in life sometimes we substitute things that were never meant to be substituted for. We try to make a career, a spiritual gift or temperament our own because we admire it in someone else. We try to adopt those characteristics and then we get frustrated because it doesn’t work out, bring success, happiness or joy. We are trying to put the round peg in the square hole or in this case – wear a man’s deodorant. But, it won’t work. It isn’t us. It isn’t our gift, skill or temperament. I’m not saying that with God’s help we can’t all be loving, kind, peacemakers. What I am saying is that some of us are going to make great CEO’s and some of us aren’t. Some of us are going to run an organized family and others are going to run organized chaos. No one way is right or wrong, but we must learn to identify the gifts, talents and personality strengths that makes us special and unique in God’s eye and honor that within ourselves. Lean into it instead of fighting it. Embrace it rather than trying to avoid it.
“You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they were created and have their being.” Revelation 4:11

I’m convinced that if we were good at everything  – we would be bored.  We would get stagnant and stale. We would never need to cry out to and lean on  God to give us more patience with that whiny child. More insight into His word. More faith in His plan. More ___________________________ (you fill in the blank). Plus, we would all be fighting for the same job. That could get ugly. I’ve seen my kids fight over the zipline and the computer. Trust me, we don’t want to go there! Embrace who YOU are in Christ. I pray He gives us all a peace about our weaknesses and a humility about our strengths. May we come along side one another, love and encourage – not judge.

I long to see you so that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to make you strong— that is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith. Romans 1:11-12

Leave a Reply

