Sojourner

Standard

Last week, we were able to take our first family trip in several years. It was wonderful to experience a different country through the eyes of our children, who had never left the United States, until this trip. We were sojourners looking forward to a temporary stay in a very distinct and wonderful place, but very unlike our own. The food, smells, scenery, language and culture were all unique to this country and amazing to experience, but like we all say, “It’s nice to visit, but even better to come home.”

“Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear to my cry; hold not your peace at my tears! For I am a sojourner with you, a guest, like all my fathers. Psalm 39:12

Over the past several months, I have felt this same way about this life. Our culture, the media, politics, hate crimes and  . . . .  I could go on and on. I have been feeling very out of place in this world. In fact, the more I learn about Christ and grow in my relationship with Him the more I feel like a sojourner on this planet! Let me say here, that I am FAR – FAR away from being anywhere near where I could be in my relationship with Christ, but I feel more and more like my body resides here and my heart in a galaxy far far away.

Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.I am a sojourner on the earth; hide not your commandments from me!My soul is consumed with longing for your rules at all times. Psalm 119:18-20

God is showing me that following Him makes you feel this way and in my “uncomfortable” I am growing. Growing stronger in my faith, stronger in my love for the Lord and stronger in my trust of His plan for my life instead of my own. I pray that we all begin to welcome this “uncomfortable” feeling. We try so hard to fit in, but I’m beginning to realize it means more when we don’t!

“Then I will draw near to you for judgment. I will be a swift witness against the sorcerers, against the adulterers, against those who swear falsely, against those who oppress the hired worker in his wages, the widow and the fatherless, against those who thrust aside the sojourner, and do not fear me, says the LORD of hosts. Malachi 3:5

Leave a Reply

