Take the low road

Standard

“Whoever receives this child in my name receives me, and whoever receives me receives him who sent me. For he who is least among you all is the one who is great.”Luke 9:48

We had a wonderful holiday weekend. Family projects, family cookouts and family pool time. It was just a matter of time before our son and daughter reached the “you get on my nerves” part of “family time”. I tried to take each child aside at different times and explain that sometimes you just have to take the high road and walk away. “Pretend it doesn’t bother you and they will stop doing it.”, I would plea. Teaching children to handle things ethically, without seeking revenge and retaliating is, in my opinion, one of the greatest task we have as parents. Honestly, I still have a hard time with this as an adult from time to time – today included as God would have it.

But when you are invited, go and sit in the lowest place, so that when your host comes he may say to you, ‘Friend, move up higher.’ Then you will be honored in the presence of all who sit at table with you. Luke 14:10

Taking the high road really boils down to taking the low road. I know that sounds a little counter intuitive and like I’ve been out in the sun to long, but stick with me. When we take the high road we are essentially putting ourselves last. Putting others before ourselves and loving others as we love ourselves. Dying to self, putting pride aside, taking the lowest place ensures we handle life and it’s situations with integrity and grace, but can only be done when we position ourselves below others. Hence, the low road.
and it sprouted and became a low spreading vine, and its branches turned toward him, and its roots remained where it stood. So it became a vine and produced branches and put out boughs. Ezekiel 17:6

We aren’t able to take the high road if we are living on it. I picture my son sitting on our back patio, feet kicked up on the coffee table drinking a lemonade saying, “Oh, yeah! I’m living the high life.” When our lives, actions, prayers and faith are all about us we are living a life literally “high on SELF”. When we lower our posture to one of servanthood and humility,  like Jesus did, we see the benefits of the low road. I think I need to reconsider my response to our children. I dare say – they are always on the high road – maybe it’s time for them (and me) to start thinking, living and taking the low road.

But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, so that no human being might boast in the presence of God. 1 Corinthians 1:27-29

Leave a Reply

