What If?

Standard

My son loves to throw out “what if?” statements. “Mommy, what if there was a frog that had wings and he flew over the ocean?” “What if everyone got to go to the shoe store and pick out any pair of shoes they wanted and you didn’t have to pay for them?”

So, I thought, “What if I figured out how to lean on God in all the daily details the way I lean on Him when I am writing and speaking ?” When I have the opportunity to speak, there isn’t a doubt in my mind that the only way I pull it off is with God’s presence. The Holy Spirit at my side. When I complete a book and go back and read some of the things He has placed on my heart, I am in awe at His message and know with certainty it is all God. When God says He will equip us with all we need to carry out the task He has created us for – He will! I am living proof of that. Please hear me when I say that me becoming an author and a speaker is just as incredible as Mary finding out she going to give birth to God’s only son as a virgin!

So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers, to equip his people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ. Ephesians 4:11-13

The big things are easy. There is no question we need God, but how do we learn to release every aspect of our lives? The trivial. The mundane. The daily. The answer is practice! Nothing happens without work. Not losing weight, learning a new language, keeping a marriage together, cultivating a new friendship or learning a new position at work. Most everything we do takes a little time, practice and patience. Our trust and reliance on God is no different. As we read His word and learn more about Him we are able to lean in a little closer each day. As we lean closer into Him, we are able to release more and more of our lives into His hands. I promise you it won’t happen over night. Nothing good is easy or free, so be patient and extend yourself some grace as you begin to build and grow this faith muscle.

Now may the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen. Hebrews 13:20-21

The Lord wants to help each of us accomplish this goal. Simply ask Him to show you the way. To open the eyes of your heart to see Him more clearly and trust Him more deeply. He will answer when you call to Him, but you must be willing to listen for the answer.

‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’ Jeremiah 33:3

Leave a Reply

