Maximum Capacity

Standard

I said, “I will watch my ways and keep my tongue from sin; I will put a muzzle on my mouth while in the presence of the wicked.”Psalm 39:1

A friend recently confided in me about a “family situation” she was dealing with. She had reached her limit. She knew she had to remove herself from the “situation” or the outcome would not be desirable. I told her that “we all reach our maximum capacity to extend grace” every now and then. Ever been there? Reached your maximum capacity? Did you know you were about to get pushed over the edge and remove yourself from the situation or did you blow and then realize it was too late? Oh, the tongue can be an ugly – vile tool, but when the heart is healthy it sings praises and gives encouragement.

Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. James 3:5

As our relationship with the Heavenly Father grows,  it gets easier to see when we need to step back and find restoration in God. It becomes more bearable to be a peacemaker and as Christie Love (founder of LeadHer.org) says “breath grace into others”. I love that image, but I know there are many situations that without God I would be breathing a lot, but it wouldn’t be grace. I need Him. I need Him to recognize when I am about to meet my maximum capacity. I need Him to help me recharge and refocus. I need Him to help me “breath grace into others”. I have realized, after many years of trying, I can not do it without Him!

Although, I know there will be times, my heart will surprise me. Will sneak up on me. Will rise up and respond in a way I never intended. That is when I will fall to my knees and ask God to keep working and thank Him for never giving up on me.

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? My brothers and sisters, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water. James 3:9-12

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.