The Wait

Standard

This is the tree I wanted to cut down when we first moved into this house. It stands in the middle of the yard. It’s place doesn’t make any sense. In fact, it’s out of place and in the way. How wrong I was about this tree. After time. After being here in this house and seeing this tree in every season. I realize it’s my favorite tree. Look at it now. In the middle of February it is blooming beautiful white flowers in the midst of a dreary winter backdrop. In the fall, it is the most vibrant color of yellow and looks like a burning bush when the suns hits it in the afternoon. Its leaves hang on when the others are falling and they are the last to give up and fall to the ground.

Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20

This tree reminds me of the characteristics of God that we sometimes forget when things get busy, difficult or desperate. Our God stands in center of it all. In the center of OUR lives. His glory and beautiful promises of rest, peace, mercy and protection shine during the dark and cold moments of life. We want to hurry past the hard stuff. Get through it. Move on. We don’t like the pruning. The wait. It’s hard. It hurts. It doesn’t make sense. But, it’s in the wait that God shines the brightest. Where we grow the most. It’s in the harshest of life’s challenges He endures and uses His power to produce fruit when all odds seem against it. Nothing is impossible for Him. Nothing! He offers hope. The hope that greater things are to come. Hope that happiness will triumph over sadness and despair. Hope that forgiveness will enter and reign in a bitter heart. Hope that peace will prevail over our weary and stressful lives. Hope that love will conquer all in our lives.

But God’s not finished. He’s waiting around to be gracious to you. He’s gathering strength to show mercy to you. God takes the time to do everything right—everything. Those who wait around for him are the lucky ones.Isaiah 30:18 (The Message)

God is the solid rock that we can build our lives on. It’s His Word that should be the foundation of our lives. To me, this tree symbolizes strength, endurance, steadfastness, grace and beauty. When we live with God’s power within us He enables us to live these characteristics out daily. I pray your lives are filled with God’s strength – not your own. With His Mighty endurance as we run the race. With a steady and unchanging desire to seek Him daily and with the grace and beauty to handle conflict and share love with others as Christ did for us.

God, the one and only— I’ll wait as long as he says. Everything I need comes from him, so why not? He’s solid rock under my feet, breathing room for my soul,Psalm 62:1 (The Message)

5 thoughts on “The Wait

  1. Apologies if this comment comes in twice (I seem to have lost the first one while trying to sign in):
    Ah — Allison, you gave me such sweet encouragement on my blog yesterday, and imagine my delight when I came here to read about your little tree. I too think it’s a tulip magnolia but have emailed several neighbors who have similar trees in their yards to see if they know what it is. Will keep you posted. Thanks for your words of wisdom.

    • Thank you! I am no green thumb. 🙂
      I am a friend of Bev Brown’s and she told me about your blog.
      If you ever want to meet for coffee I would love to sit down with you.
      Blessings & Hugs, Allison

      • Hi, Allison — I would love to meet for coffee and a chat sometime and will get in touch with you soon to set up a good time for us to meet. In the meantime, I *think* I know what kind of tree you have. I forgot about a handy little app I have on my iPhone for identifying trees, and it looks like yours might be a star magnolia (not a tulip or saucer magnolia, which will bloom a bit later in the spring). Enjoy the star in your yard! 🙂

Leave a Reply

