Year of prayer

Standard

So what shall I do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will also pray with my understanding; I will sing with my spirit, but I will also sing with my understanding. 1 Corinthians 14:15

A year ago, I began taking prayer request at each speaking event. God placed it on my heart to ask for these at each event and pray for them over the year. I have done that. It has been a year of prayer over each individual card. Some gave their names and other didn’t. Some had personal prayer requests and others asked for prayers for loved ones and friends. As 2011 came to a close last weekend, I sat and prayed one last time over the cards and then threw each one into the fire. As I watched them burn,  I was reminded of how many prayers had been answered, wondered if others had been and accepted the reality that some were not.

Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Mark 14:38

For those prayers that were answered – I gave praise. For those that were not – I prayed for understanding and peace. Sometimes, with time and reflection, it’s clear that unanswered prayers are a blessing and God’s plan was better than I had anticipated. And other times, I know I will never understand why some prayers go unanswered. At least, not in this life. But I pray for a strong faith that leads to growing trust in my Lord and Savior. Trust and faith that when I entrust all I have to Him, I will have  integrity, strength, ability and the confidence to remain reliant on Him despite the circumstances. Despite the answered and unanswered prayers. Despite the trials. Despite temptations.

Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up. Luke 18:1

I hope you will take time to read the parable of the persistent widow in Luke 18 during your quiet time this week. I pray that 2012 brings you a renewed and strengthened faith in our Heavenly Father.

Leave a Reply

