Hydrated?

Standard

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God? My tears have been my food day and night, while people say to me all day long, “Where is your God?” These things I remember as I pour out my soul: how I used to go to the house of God under the protection of the Mighty One with shouts of joy and praise among the festive throng. Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God. Psalm 42:1-5

“You need to drink more water” everyone tells me. I really do. I just get busy and forget. Plus, who has time to run to the restroom ten times a day? Although, we know our bodies can’t survive without it and it’s good for our health to stay hydrated.

“My people have committed two sins: They have forsaken me, the spring of living water, and have dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water. Jeremiah 2:13

Our souls have the same condition. They thirst to be satisfied by Our creator. The One who placed this strong thirst for Him in our souls. So, why do we always settle for less? Why do we settle for the temporary when we can tap into the our God’s never-ending reservoir? We are all guilty of it. We look to the things of this world to bring us happiness. The new purse, computer upgrade, a bigger flat screen, larger house, newer car. They do bring temporary happiness and it isn’t wrong to have these things unless we are seeking them to satisfy our happiness. A satisfied and long-lasting happiness can only comes from one place.

Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. John 6:35

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4:13-14

God is our refreshing water. The ultimate “satisfier”. No one, and certainly no thing, can quench our thirst for happiness and satisfaction, but Him.  . . . . . . . Are you hydrated?

Leave a Reply

