Striking Glory

Standard

Because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. James 1:3

For the past few weeks I have watched this beautiful tree in the middle of my back yard turn the most vibrant color of yellow. When the sun hit it mid-afternoon it looked as if it was on fire.

I would sit at my desk or stand at the kitchen window for minutes unable to take my eyes off of this striking tree. However, this morning I found that during the night half of the leaves had fallen off making the ground a beautiful color, but my tree so frail and bare looking. Half dressed. No longer standing in glory in the center of the yard. Although, I know it will bloom again in the spring and we will go through the cycle of its beautiful fall display I wish it could stay as it has been the past few weeks all year round. And then again, if it was, I’m sure I would grow so accustomed to it that I would eventually lose interest and my awe in its beauty would wane.

He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. John 15:2

It reminded me of the seasons of pruning in my life. I understand that if life was perfect and beautiful all the time, I would grow stagnant in my relationship with Christ and the depth of our intimacy would suffer. Yes, there are times I feel fragile, bare and vulnerable but I trust God that the next season is coming and I will again stand vibrant before Him and in awe of His mighty grace having endured again, grown again and preparing to do it all over again.

As you know, we count as blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy. James 5:11

As difficult as it is sometimes, I am thankful for pruning! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

