Slow, Steady, Savor

Standard

Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am. I don’t mean that your help didn’t mean a lot to me—it did. It was a beautiful thing that you came alongside me in my troubles. Philippians 4:12-14 (The Message)

We have specific “dessert” nights so the kids don’t expect a treat every night after dinner. When the kids do get a sweet treat, I have one who gulps it down in one or two bites and keeps moving. While, the other savours each bite, making it last longer than anyone thought it ever could. “I still have half of mine left!”, she will proudly say.

Worrying about my daily “to do” list, the pile of laundry that needs folding, the lunches that need to be packed and the event that needs to be planned. I thought about how often I gulp down God’s word. How I rush through His love letter and lessons for me. Missing out on the glory of His works, the mysteries He desires to reveal, the kindness He wants to show, the plans He has, the TRUTH. His truth! All because I take a large and hurried swallow of His word. How wasteful! Why even take the time to go through the motions when I’m not slowing down to savor this moment with Him? Moving so fast it’s only a blur will get me nothing but a check on the “to do” list.

But I, by your great love, can come into your house; in reverence I bow down toward your holy temple. Psalm 5:7

How do I approach the Prince of Peace with reverence, awe and passion in the midst of the daily grind? How do I slow my mind down enough, steady the spirit and savor His holy word? It’s not enough to try. I’m not satisfied with that anymore! I know God isn’t! No more “trying”!  It is time to turn desires into action, take a breath realizing that to make it work it will require more than I have. Allowing the Holy Spirit to take over ever fiber of my being, seeing Him at work in my daily grind, trusting He is in every detail and He ALONE is King.

Our King desires a meeting. Will you carve out the time? He wants to steal a few sacred, quiet moments alone with just you. Are you willing to listen? He wants to make you feel special and loved in a way you have never experienced. Is your heart open to accept it? If you approach Him with a slow, steady, savoring heart, He will penetrate it and your life and change you in ways you never imagined.

I pray today is the day you begin to take pleasure in His presence.

Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you, who walk in the light of your presence, LORD. Psalm 89:15

Leave a Reply

