I don’t need help!

Standard

If you don’t know what you’re doing, pray to the Father. He loves to help. You’ll get his help, and won’t be condescended to when you ask for it. Ask boldly, believingly, without a second thought. People who “worry their prayers” are like wind-whipped waves. Don’t think you’re going to get anything from the Master that way, adrift at sea, keeping all your options open. James 1:5-7 (The Message)

Our son’s Kindergarten homework started this week. He was excited to be like the big kids, but wasn’t really excited about actually having to do it. Our daughter was excited she had a real student to work with. Like a lot of little girls, she is a great teacher and wants to help him with his homework, but her efforts are usually met with anger, resentment and whining! He does not want his sister to help him and makes it very clear. This results in hurt feelings, tears and a mommy who is worn out from playing referee.

Blessed is the one who trusts in the LORD, who does not look to the proud, to those who turn aside to false gods. Psalm 40:4

I thought of the times that God has been there waiting for me to ask Him for guidance and help, but I never asked. I thought about the times that I felt Him tug at my heart letting me know that I was making the wrong decision and I moved forward anyway. I thought about all the times He desired for me to seek Him first and I chose another direction. It also brought to mind all the times I was angry with the trials I was enduring or resented the fact that I was held accountable to standards that others were not and how much whining He had heard me do about situations or circumstances.

When I consider of how hurt and frustrated our daughter gets when she is offering her time and knowledge to be helpful and it’s refused and rejected –  it hurts me as I realize I have made my Savior feel this same way so many times in my life.

Do not be far from me, my God; come quickly, God, to help me. Psalm 71:12

I have to pray about this daily. I have to pray that God gives me the courage, strength and power to rise above myself and this world and seek Him. I have to pray that no matter what my “happiness level” is, I always have joy from the Holy Spirit residing in me. I have to pray “not me, but you God!” everyday. I have learned that I don’t have the capacity to do these things on my own, but sometimes I am forgetful. I have to rely on His power to make these things happen in my life. I admit that for years my desire to handle things on my own was stronger than my desire to hand it over to God, but now I find it so refreshing, empowering and uplifting to realize it isn’t up to me. All we have to do is turn it over – God takes care of the rest. Are you willing?

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior. The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to tread on the heights. Habakkuk 3:17-19

Leave a Reply

