Waves of life

Standard

He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just. A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he.  Deuteronomy 32:4

As I enjoyed a quiet walk on the beach, a beautiful shell caught my eye. Just as I reached down to pick it up a wave came by and I knew it had been washed away. However, as the wave receded back into the ocean the shell remained and I picked it up. It wasn’t perfect or complete, but just the remains of a shell, the twists, turns and soft edges gave away the wear and tear it had endured. It was beautiful to me.  I held it in my hand and continued my walk. A few minutes later my eye caught another shell. This one completely different. It was complete, perfect and shiny. It almost looked like a piece of glass it was so beautiful. Again, as I stooped down to pick it up a wave rolled in, but this time the shell was gone when the wave had receded.

“Don’t look for shortcuts to God. The market is flooded with surefire, easygoing formulas for a successful life that can be practiced in your spare time. Don’t fall for that stuff, even though crowds of people do. The way to life—to God!—is vigorous and requires total attention. Matthew 7:13 (The Message)

Like many people, I feel very close to God when I am on the water – especially at the beach. So, as I was walking my mind was on Him and, of course, as the GodChick I saw His lesson for me in these two shells.  It was a tangible way of God reminding me that life will always take twists and turns. There will be many things I will endure, but He will use them to make me beautiful in my own way – In HIS way. And unlike the shiny things of this world that vie for my attention every minute – He alone is my “everlasting to everlasting” – all the worldly things will simply melt away.They are only here for an instant and He lasts an eternity.

“Stand up and praise the LORD your God, who is from everlasting to everlasting. ” “Blessed be your glorious name, and may it be exalted above all blessing and praise. Nehemiah 9:5

God really is all around us teaching through His word, our lives, those around us and in our conversations with Him. I pray as you follow The Whisper of God you are beginning to notice God more and more in your everyday life.

Leave a Reply

